Need basic laptop - Ssd or hard drive?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by cmp1111, Mar 4, 2021.

1. cmp1111

cmp1111 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I have a Lenovo Ideapad 1T HDD, 6 Gb RAM that’s getting old but has worked more or less fine. Since I work in a school office, we are in and out of remote and it’s just getting too slow for that kind of multitasking on the days I have to stay home. Looking for something newer and faster. I just don’t know if I still need a traditional hard drive or if the newer SSDs would handle what I do. I use the Microsoft Office suites and when working, need Adobe CC to work as well. Personally, I can get by with less, mostly web based stuff - but I do like to store some picture files and need room for some gaming files as well.

i do almost insist on a number pad as I do a lot of accounting tasks both at work and for the household/volunteering.

I am fairly savvy as a user, not a programmer, but was able to reprogram the most annoying thing in my current Ideapad, where the shift and up arrow keys just seemed to be placed wrong. I was able to reassign them.

Any help on whether I should be looking for the solid state or hard drive would be appreciated, as well as some idea of what’s “good” currently for processors and RAM for my level of use.

thanks!

General Questions

1) What is your budget? $500-$600

2) What size notebook would you like?
    d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen

3) Which country will you buying this notebook? US

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: Lenovo, Toshiba
    b. Dislike:
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook? Mainly web work and Office Suite, some Adobe CC possible, light gaming

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both? Mostly at home in two areas, but may travel some.