Need a Razer Blade Pro 17 2070Max-q vbios

Discussion in 'Razer' started by HandsomeGhost, Aug 27, 2019.

  1. SUADE8880

    SUADE8880 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    171
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    56

    Anytime!! Hope luck works back my way and have someone provide me the 100w variant. ;)
     
  2. werdmonkey4321

    werdmonkey4321 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I successfully flashed the bios you sent me into my GS66. Thanks again. I also checked the power limits for the bios you gave me and it seems there might be some issues?

    https://imgur.com/a/zqgcPHx

    [​IMG]
    The target value doesn't seem right though? Shouldn't it be higher. Currently it says 80 watts for the bios you sent me. I'm not sure if Razer Synapse changes that value depending on what values you set for the system?
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2020
  3. werdmonkey4321

    werdmonkey4321 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    41
    .
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2020
  4. werdmonkey4321

    werdmonkey4321 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Just ran some tests and the average max power draw is still 80 watts. It's not hitting 90 watts and I suspect it's because the target value in the vbios you sent is set to 80 watts.

    https://imgur.com/a/zqgcPHx

    Could you check that your Synapse settings is set to high on the gpu, it might also be called gaming mode, and then dump the vbios file again for me. I think it might have been saved in balanced mode in synapse so the target value is set to 80 watts instead of 90 watts. I'm not sure if this would change anything, but it's worth checking.

    It looks like someone posted a similar note in the past on page 13 with variable bios. It looks like I will need the 100 watt vbios for the RTX 2070 Super Max-Q as well if the synapse stuff doesn't end up working out. To get the higher power draw I need target power limits set at 90+ watts.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2020
  5. amihail91

    amihail91 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    16
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    41
  6. SUADE8880

    SUADE8880 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    171
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    56

    I'll check it again when I get home. The Razer with this vbios when overclocking pull around 105-110w.

    I haven't found any laptops yet with a 100w 2070 Super MQ especially when Razer doesn't have it in their 17 Pro lineup yet. What about the regular 2070 Super mobile at 115W?
     
  7. SUADE8880

    SUADE8880 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    171
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    56

    I did it this time in Custom all out performance in DGPU mode...https://www.mediafire.com/file/h801ze5kxnc2n03/2070Super.rom/file

    I don't know if makes a difference since my snapshot look just like yours. Again, I'm able to go well over 100w.



    upload_2020-6-11_17-9-10.png
     
  8. werdmonkey4321

    werdmonkey4321 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I gave it another try and it's still only averaging 80 watts. Peak is also only 96 watts which was the same as the GS66 original vbios.
     
  9. werdmonkey4321

    werdmonkey4321 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I haven't tried it yet with the mobile gpu bios. I think I heard that in the past people had trouble flashing max-p bioses onto max-q gpus. I might try it after I do a little bit more reading on what others have done and see what issues may pop up.

    I did find an RTX 2070 Super Mobile Bios on techpowerup https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/221251/221251. I'm just a bit hesitant to flash it since PascalTDPTweaker doesn't show what the power limits are, nor are the revision numbers given.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2020
    SUADE8880 likes this.
  10. seanwee

    seanwee Father of laptop shunt modding

    Reputations:
    446
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    844
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Yes it wont work as the gpu will just lock itself down to safe mode and limit itself to 1350mhz.
     
    werdmonkey4321 and SUADE8880 like this.
Loading...

Share This Page