NC10 NetBook Brightness FN keys not working

Discussion in 'Samsung' started by notrace, Dec 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notrace

    notrace Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    This is really annoying me! I recently installed a nlited version of xp home, legit copy. I ad it all up and running fine and the brightness worked. and now its stopped working?

    I don't have the num lock on. I have reinstalled graphics drivers. Any help? I really want to be able to increase the birghtness, its awfully dull as it is.
    All other fn keys are working. Yet the brightness keys seem unresponsive and do nothing!
     
  2. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Reputations:
    4,109
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Hi.

    I have a Q210 and not a NC10 so i dont know if the following applies.

    Are you using the Samsung display driver or one from somewhere else.

    As the Samsung Driver as screen brightness functions built in , if you use any other driver they do not work.

    Regards

    John.
     
  3. notrace

    notrace Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am using the intel graphics driver which i downloaded from the samsung website.

    Thanks for the input tho!
     
  4. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Reputations:
    4,109
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Hi.

    On my Q210 there is an option in the Bios to adjust the display brightness for Auto to User control.

    Have you upgraded the Bios or Adjusted it.

    Regards

    John.
     
  5. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,613
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,522
    Likes Received:
    701
    Trophy Points:
    531
  6. notrace

    notrace Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the input guys, really appreciated, i downloaded the display manager and it seems to be working, thanks. weird it was working before but oh well :D


    Thank you :D
     
  7. jansin62

    jansin62 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I also downloaded both the display manager and keyboard magic. It WORKED!!
    Thanks a million.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page