1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

NC10 NetBook Brightness FN keys not working

Discussion in 'Samsung' started by notrace, Dec 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notrace

    notrace Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    This is really annoying me! I recently installed a nlited version of xp home, legit copy. I ad it all up and running fine and the brightness worked. and now its stopped working?

    I don't have the num lock on. I have reinstalled graphics drivers. Any help? I really want to be able to increase the birghtness, its awfully dull as it is.
    All other fn keys are working. Yet the brightness keys seem unresponsive and do nothing!
     
  2. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,211
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    Hi.

    I have a Q210 and not a NC10 so i dont know if the following applies.

    Are you using the Samsung display driver or one from somewhere else.

    As the Samsung Driver as screen brightness functions built in , if you use any other driver they do not work.

    Regards

    John.
     
  3. notrace

    notrace Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am using the intel graphics driver which i downloaded from the samsung website.

    Thanks for the input tho!
     
  4. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,211
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    Hi.

    On my Q210 there is an option in the Bios to adjust the display brightness for Auto to User control.

    Have you upgraded the Bios or Adjusted it.

    Regards

    John.
     
  5. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,110
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Location:
    Swindon UK
  6. notrace

    notrace Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the input guys, really appreciated, i downloaded the display manager and it seems to be working, thanks. weird it was working before but oh well :D


    Thank you :D
     
  7. jansin62

    jansin62 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I also downloaded both the display manager and keyboard magic. It WORKED!!
    Thanks a million.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page