1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

NBR Vista Tips and Tweaks Guide

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows XP and Vista' started by Les, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. blackmamba

    blackmamba Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    [​IMG]


    For all the TOP VISTA TWEAKS you can ever want, go here : http://thevistaforums.com/index.php?autocom=ineo&showcat=4

    That little forum should have all the tweaks and then some for Vista. ALL. Not just some. ALL. You don't have to wait on this thread daily for another tweak to be posted.

    "Get CCleaner!!! It Works with 32/64Bit"
    [​IMG]

    Thats not a tweak, thats just downloading a program to clean out your computer.

    The Vista Forums has everything you want and need concerning tweaks.


    Tweakhound

    ^^Another great site for tweaks for all users.

    http://www.tweakvista.com/

    Pick any tweak your interested in from this site.


    Looking to disable useless services?

    Go here for those tweaks: http://vistarewired.com/2007/02/18/services/

    Again, its for all users.










    [​IMG]
     
  2. trebuin

    trebuin Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    Be careful with Black viper's tweaks. It will cause problems with wireless and tablets if you don't know what you're doing. Even the "safe mode" will disable things you need...you can live with you computer. If you guys would like, I can put together a shorter list of what I'd recommend is absolutely safe. Just post if you're interested.
     
  3. crash

    crash NBR Assassin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,540
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    Hidden in Plain Sight
  4. calot

    calot Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I still have the flashing screen when shutting down.. Whats up with that? Can anyone help me? I also get jumpy video when streaming or playing flash games...?? any help?
     
  5. liquidplasma6

    liquidplasma6 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    thanks a lot man i was wondering what Ccleaner was used for , R+
     
  6. icedout297

    icedout297 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I would really appreciate that. I don't know too much about computers, and a list that would allow me to do everything that I'm currently doing, but get better performance would be great. I'm not going to mess around with Black Viper's tweaks as I'm connected wireless 90% of the time.
     
  7. Mr. Anderson

    Mr. Anderson Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    flamenko, the TuneXp tip and the TMM tip both made a HUGE difference in my startup time, and how fast my laptop runs. I didn't get a before time for my boot time, but now it's 1:05, which isn't the fastest, but it's WAY faster than it was.
     
  8. niGht kiD

    niGht kiD .. beach boy ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    playgroun: D
    Improve my start-up time by a few seconds, now around 50 seconds with password enabled, thanks ya flamenko and blackmamba(u're sooo hot :p)
     
  9. Harper2.0

    Harper2.0 Back from the dead?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Location:
    California The place with the warm weather :D
    From the 1st site blackmamba linked

    there was a "way" to get UAC to be less "annoying" (works great!!)

    i would post it, but then i'd be "stealing" someone's work..lol
     
  10. alkaeda

    alkaeda Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Why Hasn't This Thread Been Stickied
     
  11. digicamhelp

    digicamhelp Notebook Consultant NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    So Florida, USA
    This is the second time I've heard about this in the past few days (at this and one other site). Sounds interesting however, before I give it a try I need to ask:

    Is this something a non-technical person should use? I mean, what if it deletes a wrong registry entry and I don't know how to fix it? Or is using it risk-free?

    Thanks.
     
  12. ppen1

    ppen1 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thanks! this worked. :)
     
  13. LIVEFRMNYC

    LIVEFRMNYC Blah Blah Blah!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    It asks you to back up your reg every time. You can choose YES/NO. Better to choose Yes so you can recover your registry if their is a problem. Mostly likely you will not run into problems and is very user friendly.
     
  14. Spoodo

    Spoodo Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    i somehow accidentally deleted the programs folder, and i think TMM was in it. is there anyway i could recover it in home premium? the program folder was in my start menu but there was nothing in it.
     
  15. Spoodo

    Spoodo Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    and my administrative tools is gone too!! any help wanted pleasE!!!
     
  16. Les

    Les Not associated with NotebookReview in any way

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Spoodo...Was your recovery turned on or off? if it was on, simply do a recovery to the last time it backed itself up.
     
  17. Spoodo

    Spoodo Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    i don't think so. actually i'm not too sure. would u recommend i do a clean install of vista again? i don't really use Dell's Media Direct, so i figured i might as well get rid of it, at the same time clean out my registry with a format. i just feel that my notebook is performing under par. if i do a clean install without MD, i would still be able to use the travel remote and media buttons right?
     
  18. ScuderiaConchiglia

    ScuderiaConchiglia NBR Vaio Team Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Without a doubt the best article I've read on tweaking Vista is over on AnandTech. It really does an in depth analysis of the reality and myths surrounding Vista tweaks. Here is a link:

    Windows Tweaks

    Gary
     
  19. Les

    Les Not associated with NotebookReview in any way

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I believe so. I am told the media buttons and remote are tied to Quikset but cannot guarante this. I have no reason to believe they are tied to mediadirect.

    Your most logical option of course is a complete reinstall; just remembr to reinstall the proper drivers.
     
  20. Spoodo

    Spoodo Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I intend to use the drivers provided by dell, then search for updated drivers later on. The Quikset application should be included in the CDs provided by Dell right? Coming to partitioning. Was thinking for partitioning my hard drive into 3 partitions. One for the OS (Vista), one as recovery and one for my own personal files. How much space would you recommend for the OS partition? Considering I've got 160gb.
     

Share This Page