Msi Gx620

Discussion in 'MSI' started by taigech, Aug 2, 2008.

  1. robm@rkcomputer.net

    robm@rkcomputer.net Company Representative

    Reputations:
    492
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    One is for a digital only tuner and the other is for a hybrid (analog/digital combo).

    If you purchased and installed a tuner from msi in the usa the only one that was offered that I am aware of was the hybrid. The drivers on the website I am pretty sure are the same version that is on the CD shipped with your tuner. They have not been updated.
     
  2. Msiowner

    Msiowner Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    thanks for clearing things up!
     
  3. mindmadness

    mindmadness Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I can't find the serial number so that i can register it .... can anyone tell me where exactly can i find it ... i know it is under the barcode but i can't find the bar code ....
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Mastershake

    Reputations:
    2,894
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    where did you buy it from
     
  5. robm@rkcomputer.net

    robm@rkcomputer.net Company Representative

    Reputations:
    492
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    The serial number is usually in the battery slot. Remove the battery and you should see it on the chassis. The serial number should also be on the label on the carry box that has the handle.
     
  6. sbakar

    sbakar Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi everyone,

    I just got an MSI GX620, and I am pleased with it except for one BIG issue: the DVD burner is complete rubbish. It's the Optiarc AD-7560S with SX01 firmware. I simply cannot get it to burn DVDs properly, it always produces coasters around the 90% burn mark with Alcohol 120%/IMGBurn, etc. The choice of program used for burning really doesn't matter, it stops burning randomly close to the end of the disc burn.

    For background, I had an Asus F3SV with the HL-DT-ST GSA-T20L drive and it was BULLETPROOF. It burned hundreds of the same blank media as I am using right now with NO problems whatsoever.

    I am willing to swap out the drive, but then I learned that this computer uses a SATA motherboard connector. I have searched Google till I went blue in the face, but I haven't found many SATA slimline burners except for an Intel one, and the LG CT10N, which has BD read support, and is really expensive. My options now:

    1) I still have my beloved T20L, which is IDE. Is there ANY way of adapting the IDE drive to fit the SATA connector on the motherboard? Will this work? Has it been done?

    2) Buy a new, good drive...I don't need BD read support, so the CT10N is a waste of money. Is there a GOOD, RELIABLE, BULLETPROOF DVD burner that is both slimline and SATA??? There really don't seem to be many around for some reason, despite the fact that SATA is replacing IDE as the connector of choice on the new laptop motherboards.

    Thanks for your help...this issue is really driving me up the wall, since I burn lots of discs and now I can't even burn 1 without problems.

    SNB
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Mastershake

    Reputations:
    2,894
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    i have 7 of these drives in misc notebooks and all work perfect.. what media are you using
     
  8. robm@rkcomputer.net

    robm@rkcomputer.net Company Representative

    Reputations:
    492
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55

    You probably have a hardware failure with the optical drive. These drives work perfectly. If you have a GX620 pre-configured system I would suggest calling msi and setup an rma for a replacement drive.
     
  9. sbakar

    sbakar Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    This might be a good option, but I can't go without my laptop, so I will see if they will take just the drive back. The service centre is in Toronto, I am further east in Kingston.

    Regarding the previous poster's question, it's good to see that your experience has been very positive. I use Fujifilm DVDs (RITEK RIDATA), Verbatim CDs (CMC) and Memorex DVD DLs, all of which worked flawlessly multiple times with the GSA-T20L. Plus, Alcohol 120% shows this drive as "0:1" which I believe means it is unable to make identical copies of some discs. I could be wrong.

    SNB
     
  10. mindmadness

    mindmadness Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I can't play CDs on my laptop ... DVDs work just fine but the CDs won't ... can anyone help?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. shafted123
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,819
  2. BenFink
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    2,624
  3. hoang3s
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    3,202
  4. const451
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,828
  5. someguyoverthere
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    5,920

Share This Page