MSI GT73VR 7RF Titan Pro-425 Review By Phoenix

Discussion in 'MSI Reviews & Owners' Lounges' started by Phoenix, Feb 9, 2017.

  1. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,236
    Messages:
    3,919
    Likes Received:
    5,127
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Cinebench doesn't seem to be affected by memory timings very much.
    Best way to run cinebench is to set "PROCESS PRIORITY" to REALTIME in windows task manager for the executable.
    Then run it. It will look like it froze, but will finish and your score wiill be 5-10 points higher.

    However I did get consistently 4 to 5 more points when going from 17-17-17-39 2T to 15/15/15/35, 1T.

    Papusan was correct I think.
    Your problem with scores are startup programs you are running.
    I don't have anything loaded at startup except basic windows services, Synaptics driver, Yolomouse (yes, yolomouse), Nvidia display drivers and "Silent Option".

    Could be anything. Only Papusan can help with that. Try setting "realtime" priority to see if that helps.

    BTW I posted 4800 mhz cinebench scores. It's stable, but the temps get too hot. This is my limit to being fully game stable. Was able to run stockfish chess engine 8 threads also but that uses less power than cinebench.

    I can run cinebench at 4.9 ghz at 1.37v, but temps get to 95C after a couple of runs and that's with max fan speed. Over 115W power draw. Not safe to use besides suicide bench runs. Laptop's probably close to power tripping itself ....
     
  2. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    11,755
    Messages:
    18,264
    Likes Received:
    27,278
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Not for 1.310v I think (Lower clocks doesn't mean very much for decrease the power draw). Test 49x with same voltage. You don't need to run the full test.
    You have Autoruns.exe on your machine. Use it. As well put "PROCESS PRIORITY" to REALTIME in windows task manager as mentioned above. From over 1000 down to 977 doesn't seems right.
     
  3. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,236
    Messages:
    3,919
    Likes Received:
    5,127
    Trophy Points:
    581
    x49 crashes instantly at 1.310v. I need 1.375v .....
     
    Vasudev and Donald@HIDevolution like this.
  4. Phoenix

    Phoenix Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    12,916
    Messages:
    17,346
    Likes Received:
    23,790
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Have you the knowledge also of what I have in my fridge? :eek:[​IMG]
     
  5. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    11,755
    Messages:
    18,264
    Likes Received:
    27,278
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I know everything about you, bruh:D
    This is from my fridge. But not a record for 48x
    upload_2018-3-6_4-47-13.png
    Maybe try something in the middle. The above is 1.225v load voltage (Not optimized for 48x). A random voltage:)
     
  6. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,236
    Messages:
    3,919
    Likes Received:
    5,127
    Trophy Points:
    581
    @Papusan
    4900 mhz 1.375v
    IA AC DC=1
    3 runs cinebench.
    Can't go more. temps are too high. look.

    cinebench_4900mhz_1375mv_iaacdc_1.png
     
    Donald@HIDevolution and Papusan like this.
  7. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    11,755
    Messages:
    18,264
    Likes Received:
    27,278
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I fixed this for you:hi:With @Vasudev he will get double:biggrin:
    I wait for @Phoenix run:D This is record for you. I mean you had 1083 or was it 1085 before. I wonder how Danishblunt managed 5.1 or was it 5.2GHz stable with 1.270v on same Msibook:p Or was it with an Alienware?:rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2018
  8. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,236
    Messages:
    3,919
    Likes Received:
    5,127
    Trophy Points:
    581
    "MSIbook GT73VR with custom homemade EC". Because MSI clearly gave him the SHA-1/SHA-256 encryption key to hack the EC Without a permanent brick, right? And you can't hack the EC without disassembly in Linux....

    7820HK CPU may be able to load windows at 5 ghz at "1.270v" with the "Default" IA AC DC Loadline setting (you will black screen if you set this to "1" at this speed and voltage), but he doesn't know that's not the real voltage. No one knew what the IA AC DC loadline setting did (except Raja and some Asus people from their forums). If we assume 100 amps, then 1.270v + (0.0018 * 100) = 1.45v, and if 80 amps, 1.270v + (0.0018 * 80)=1.414, but amps goes up with current so it has to be higher than 80. So lets say he loaded windows at 5 ghz (which I did also)? 1.270v + 1.80 mOhms of resistance from default IA AC DC loadline setting would be up to 1.45v at full load. And less at idle since voltage (VID) goes up as current goes up...would you even get into windows without BSOD first?

    1.40v can load windows at 5 ghz but you can't run anything besides super Pi 1M. 1.45v is impossible at 5.2 ghz. 5.1 ghz @1.45v might be good for a suicide CPU-Z run. Without liquid metal, impossible because of temps. With liquid metal, the laptop would just shut off if you put a heavy load on it because of hardcoded amps limit. And if amps limit didn't get you first, 100C temps would. Quickly.

    If he had claimed he used liquid metal, then there was hope for a suicide run. But he doesn't use LM and claimed he made his own EC to allow 5.2 ghz at 1.270v, which is impossible. Especially since he doesnt know how the IA AC DC loadline setting works! So 1.45v without LM? Yeah right.

    Even Mr Fox's 16L13 shut down at 5.1 ghz when Prema removed the 91W power limit restriction (7700K TDP) and when a full combined load was put on the CPU and GPU, the laptop just shut down.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2018
  9. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,970
    Messages:
    6,054
    Likes Received:
    3,893
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Doesn't XMP profile work on your modded unlocked BIOS? You did unlock Memort training Alg. too in BIOS, maybe try it.
    I know exactly what do have. Your fav food you always ask me, right? OR Liquid Nitrogen for extreme OC'ing MSI and Macbook Air?
     
    Vistar Shook likes this.
  10. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    22,311
    Messages:
    31,927
    Likes Received:
    44,233
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Just change to custom settings, leave all of the timings alone and change the clock to 100 and ratio to 14 and that will be 2800. That works fine for my Kingston HyperX Impact. If the setting is available, also set tREFI to 65535 and it might make memory training easier for the BIOS.

    IMG_20180306_145549.jpg

    Actually, that's not too bad. In fact, I would say it is about right. With my 7700K at 48x4 and ring at 44x with 1.200V the Cinebench R15 score is identical to yours. CPU drawing 92W. I have an average 7700K in the DM-G. The one that I had in the DM3 was binned a lot better.

    Edit: my temps are about the same as yours, too. Voltage setting in the BIOS is 1.200V.

    Capture.JPG
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
Loading...

Share This Page