MSI GS73VR vs Clevo P670RS-G

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by MitchTJones, Nov 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MitchTJones

MitchTJones Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey Guys!

I've been doing some serious research into Pascal based gaming notebooks and, after finding the Aorus X7 v6, I thought I was done - until I saw the price tag.
    So I've widdled it down to two (maybe three) options: the MSI GS73VR, Clevo P670RS-G, and maybe the Aorus X7 v6-PC3D.

I'd customize them (through GenTechPC, Xotic PC or HIDEvolution (or ProStar for the Clevo)) to have 256GB NVMe SSD's and apply thermal paste - preferably the Liquid Ultra from GenTech or HIDEvolution :)

So I used NotebookCheck's reviews (GS73VR, P670RS, X7 v6) to get the information I'll reference throughout this post...

I'm a student, so I'll be carrying this around with me daily and using it for class, I previously carried around a >2" thick MSI GT70, so all of these would be an improvement.

The MSI GS73VR is just over a pound lighter and 0.23/0.41 inches thinner than the other two, which is really appealing - it also has good temperatures for it's thickness (80-90 C), and is actually a bit quieter than the much thicker P670RS, but still louder, on average, than the X7 v6. It's also the only one with Thunderbolt 3, which seems useful, and that 120Hz screen looks very interesting - although the 1060 won't reach 120 FPS at max settings on most games...
    The cons for the GS73VR would be the performance of the 1060 vs the 1070, which seems to be about 33% worse than the 1070 in terms of FPS, 37% if you compare it to the overclocked one in the X7 v6.

The Clevo P670RS appears to be the perfect compromise - a GTX 1070 for the same price as the GS73VR, and the option for an i7-6820HK instead of the underpowerse 6700HQ!