1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Monitoring Notebook Temps: nVidia & ATI, CPU, HDD - Do your temps worry you?

Discussion in 'Notebook Dummy Guide Articles' started by Gophn, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    15,710
  2. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Reputations:
    3,886
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    11,104
    Why didn`t you say so? Well, now I`m happy. After 5 hours of extreme gaming, my GPU is on 47 C :D
    Let`s see what Crysis has to say about that...
     
  3. Fa310tx

    Fa310tx Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Is this true? I've heard of asus working on some modular laptop video cards, but I doubt it's really taken off.
    Personally, I have an asus a8jp (x1700). I was wanting the a8js (gf7700) but it was $500 more for the same computer, sans video card. I have taken a bunch of laptops apart to compare the cards, but could I actually just ebay a mobile 8600 and drop it in?
    JJ
     
  4. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    15,710
    sorry, most Asus models (as well as other notebooks on the market) can NOT upgrade the videocards.

    The Asus A8 series does not have upgradeable videocard modules.

    Thibault has Clevo M570U, which can upgrade and swap videocard modules.
     
  5. Amol

    Amol APH! NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,831
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,850
    Figured I'd stuff my input in this awesome thread :p.

    Used RivaTuner 2.06

    Got everything working like you said, but GPU temp was 0C. I went into the Core Temperature Setup and changed the data provider to "NVThermalDiode.dll:0" and it now works perfectly fine. GPU idle at 48C. *turns on fan by Fn+F2* I wonder how low it's going to get if I turn on the fan. Oh wow dropped to 45 already. Suhweet!

    I wasn't worried about my GPU temps at all, but it's cool to have something that tells me the temp and framerate. I'll load up Team Fortress 2 some day and see how that works.

    Thanks Gophn!

    Edit: I found that if I pressed the red spot icon, and if I close it, I can still see my GPU temps in the systray. I don't know if it's going to work with a game, but I'll test that out later. It's 3:30AM here :p.

    [​IMG]
    -^^ [that was the button I pressed :p.]

    P.S.: 37C now, woo!
     
  6. 5150

    5150 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28
  7. BLACKMAMBA123

    BLACKMAMBA123 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    kindly reupload "NHC 1.10b" on anyother server like rapidshare coz whenever i click on it it says all slots r full try again later.....!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    15,710
  9. BLACKMAMBA123

    BLACKMAMBA123 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    thanx Gophn for uploading it on rapidshare......u can see my system specs in my signature ....... can i post one link regarding gpu,cpu n hdd temps on ur thread if u dnt mind???
     
  10. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    15,710
    You should use RMclock.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page