1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Monitoring Notebook Temps: nVidia & ATI, CPU, HDD - Do your temps worry you?

Discussion in 'Notebook Dummy Guide Articles' started by Gophn, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rei86

    Rei86 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    6
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    NHC always reports a SMART error for my HDD.

    How do I find out what the problem is so I can fix it!

    Next do I shorten the life of my CPU if Dynamic switching to max performance? I mean that should be a no brainier duh but still want some backup on it.
     
  2. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Messages:
    15,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    I recommend to use a program like HDDlife to get a better idea of your HDD's total health.
     
  3. Rei86

    Rei86 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    6
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    says my HDD is fine:(

    Which is actually a good thing
     
  4. davey

    davey Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi,

    I followed the guide (thanks!), dl'd rivaTuner and it says I have a core temp of 64degs. I have a vostro 1400 with 8400gs. What I don't understand is the offseting part. Are you saying that the temperature could be completely different to the quoted value and that it's only useful as a relative value? How are we meant to know if it's dangerously overheating then?

    Edit: oddly, I got rid of my metallic fan system which I put under the notebook and its gone down to 59deg!

    Dave
     
  5. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Messages:
    15,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    64C degrees sounds right.... you do not need to offset.
     
  6. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Reputations:
    3,886
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    456
    On my other laptop, an HP Nx9420, it says that the temp is around 70 C on pretty much idle(except on battery) and HDD temps is 101 C .LOL.
    Ok 2 questions :1) should I worry or should I offset?
    2)I don't think hp did the heatsink that good on this x1600,the thing gets sometimes really really hot. CouldI apply Arctic Silver5 or some other paste on it to reduce temps?
     
  7. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Messages:
    15,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    yes you can open it up and clean out any and all fans and vents (with flashlight, Q-tips, and compressed air)...
    ...then re-apply thermal compound and re-secure the heatsink.

    HDD temp should never go past 65C degrees.
     
  8. niGht kiD

    niGht kiD .. beach boy ♫

    Reputations:
    319
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hi Gophn, thanks for this detailed guide =)

    My GPU temp is showing like "GPU : 78C" when I am gaming. Is it possible to shorten it to 78C like the examples shown by you? And could I change the color of the font? I am running Rivatuner 2.06.

    Thanks!
     
  9. Gophn

    Gophn NBR Resident Assistant

    Reputations:
    4,843
    Messages:
    15,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    yeah you can change the color if you want:
    - right-click on the RivaTuner Statistics Server icon in the tray
    -- choose Setup
    - Then you can change the font color of the OSD there.
     
  10. crazyjediman24

    crazyjediman24 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Alright, I'm working on an NP2090, Vista 64-bit, 8600m GT, latest drivers, the whole shebang. Rivatuner installs fine, but when I go to open it, it first says that it cannot load the Rivatuner64.sys driver, and tells me to make sure it's in the folder with Rivatuner, and it's there, and then it tells me that I have to turn driver signing enforcement off, and I can't seem to find it. Any and all help would be appreciated.
     
Similar Threads: Monitoring Notebook
Forum Title Date
Notebook Dummy Guide Articles [Request] Is Caring for a Gaming Notebook Different from Caring for a Regular Notebook? Feb 24, 2015
Notebook Dummy Guide Articles How do you keep your notebook running in tip top performance? Jan 3, 2012
Notebook Dummy Guide Articles Best way to pack a desktop and notebook hard drive for shipping? Apr 23, 2010
Notebook Dummy Guide Articles stupid, i know: how do i restart my notebook? Nov 17, 2009
Notebook Dummy Guide Articles keeping notebooks on for a long time? Sep 30, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page