Mobile Pascal TDP Tweaker Update and Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by Coolane, Jun 20, 2017.

  1. leeloyd

    leeloyd Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    57
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2017
    hmscott, Coolane and bloodhawk like this.
  2. thegh0sts

    thegh0sts Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    850
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Trophy Points:
    331
    what's scares me is how many VRMs and power chokes it's missing so it might not be powering it to the same level. my MSI 1070 scored higher on a lower OC....probably due to having more VRMs, power chokes.

    A stock score would be nice though.
     
    dspboys and hmscott like this.
  3. dreamcat4

    dreamcat4 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello. Sorry to have to come and ask over here (as this is a laptop forum). But do any of you guys have an opinion whether this method will / wont work for desktop [pascal] GPUs also?

    Because no matter how hard I search, theres nothing comes up by google about people hardware flashing their GTX 1080 cards to get around the driver signing issue. So if any of you guys can shed any light on that I would be very grateful.

    There is a hard mod for raising vcore [on desktop]... but these hard mods are not ideal. Since they involve soldering extra potentiometer circout, onto SMD mount area of the board. Its more dangerous to perform than would be for [doing this way] hardware flashing the BIOS chip with a removable SPI clip. e.g. if anything were to go wrong can always reflash back the original BIOS.

    Many thanks for any valuable insights.
     
  4. leeloyd

    leeloyd Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    57
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    56
    There are 2 more chokes and VRM in the mobo 's lower part, you can't see them on this picture.
    The issue is heat. 84°C brings a lot of thermal throtlling. I made a quick and dirty repast 'cause i didn't know if i'll have to reflash again following a brick.

    Non OC run with modded VBios:
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/21052079
    Max GPU temp 83°C.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017
  5. bloodhawk

    bloodhawk Derailer of threads.

    Reputations:
    2,487
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    7,807
    Trophy Points:
    681
    It will work but you will need to edit the vBIOS manually, since in most cases the addresses are different. Im using my own modded vBIOS on my EVGA FE 1080Ti.
     
  6. dreamcat4

    dreamcat4 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for this! If have any other kinds of relevant links or guides to share on this general topic. Then would be very grateful. Will also catchup in this thread too of course. Kind regards.

    [EDIT] oh, and if you can say if / how much modding your 1080ti BIOS improved the card's performance.
     
  7. bloodhawk

    bloodhawk Derailer of threads.

    Reputations:
    2,487
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    7,807
    Trophy Points:
    681
    For 1080p / 1440p Benchmarks, barely did anything. Card was already clocking 2100Mhz @ 1.062V under water. With the mod and power limits removed, i was able to sustain those clocks @ 4k.
    For gaming, it wont matter at all, maybe a tiny bit at 4k, but for anything else, the gains in fps are maybe 2-3fps at the most.
     
    Papusan likes this.
  8. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,072
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    1,430
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Do you have a hardware flasher?
    Even if you mess up, all you have to do is just hardware flash the original desktop Bios back on if your system doesn't POST. That's what's good about hardware flashers.

    All you will need for flashing (and this makes it much easier) are the following:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HHH65T4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 <--this clip is sturdy, very important and you'll find out after you compare it to a cheap prebuilt clip.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DC74A9Y/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 <--You are going to use this to build your own dongle. You only need the cables with the two female ends. Feel free to save the extra cables for something useful. They make very nice jumper blocks. You will connect the cables from the Pomona clip, to the SOIC 8-16 "blue" adapter board. Then the blue adapter board goes onto the green 1.8v adapter. (if i'm wrong someone correct me).

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B072KYK2DR/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 <--this adapter is essential. @Coolane has one which supports 1.8v directly on the main flasher (via the back pins, as that one has an extra set just for 1.8v) but most flashers won't have them, and you would probably have to order one of those from China. This is cheaper and faster.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DZC36GY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 <--the skypro works well, but it requires the above 1.8v adapter.

    There's only one problem: The skypro doesn't come with the assembled SOP8-SOP 16-8 pin adapter board (SOIC-8-16).
    I believe it comes with a compatible board, but you would have to solder the pins on.
    So finding a preassembled one is harder. It looks just like this one:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/SOP8-SOP16-...D-SOIC-8-16-/401362647418?hash=item5d7313f97a
    I had one already from the RT809F flasher.

    Here's a link, but do yourself a favor and don't use that clip: build your own with the above Pomona clip and cables, it's easy.

    https://www.amazon.com/Signstek-SOI...1500147028&sr=1-2&keywords=SOIC+adapter+board


    If you like the skypro, something that might be fun if you want offline flashing is the skypro II: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Sky...offline-programming-offline/32655341936.html?

    To wire up the clip once you get it, remember to wire it counter clockwise, just like the direction the pins on the boards go (notice that pin 1 on the PCB is top left corner and goes around?). It's extremely easy. I would wire pin 1 on the pomona clip at either the top right or bottom left (inverted). Because pin 1 on the vbios is at the top right/bottom left. Just make sure you connect the pins correctly to the SOIC8 adapter. (example: if pin 1 on your pomona clip is top right and pin 1 on the SOIC8 is top left, you'll have to to give the wires a twist (it's extremely obvious once you see it).

    The critical thing is to make sure what is "pin 1" on the vbios chip connects electronically to pin 1 on the SOIC8 adapter board.

    There are 16 pin pomona clips also (for larger IC's).
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017
    Coolane and bloodhawk like this.
  9. dreamcat4

    dreamcat4 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for all these infos Falkentyne. Unfortunately I don't [edit] LIVE in NA region, so the best clip is not available to me (without paying over 2x costs, with shipping and taxes to order it from the UK)...

    What I do have available are listed here:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=SOIC8+clip

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_sop=15&_nkw=SOIC8+clip&rt=nc&LH_PrefLoc=1

    So if you do happen to see in those lists any specific clips there which are positively good or bad ones... please let me know. I would be very grateful not to order something useless. Since there are so many bad clips around. And such few decent / nice clips.

    As for programmer, I guess I might not have a 1,8v spi converter. But I do have a Teensy++ 2.0, which is an 'arduino-style' device. Technically it is capable of SPI flashing... (and I have done before for other products). This Teensy device is a 3.3v cmos low-voltage. They are a bit static sensitive too. Anyhow it works with an existing a python script 'norway'. Which might just be possible to modify / make work.

    Not in any big rush here. Its just for future, to have some fun and see what can be done with it. Many thanks again for these help.
     
  10. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,072
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    1,430
    Trophy Points:
    181
    If you are looking for a clip: the most important things are 1)
    how narrow the plastic teeth are (around the metal contacts). You want something with a 'narrow' footprint. Look at the footprint of the pomona clip. That's something you want. If you have something that has 'thicker' teeth around the metal contacts, you run into trouble because of the resistors on the board that can block a full grip. I had that problem with this clip I bought:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015W4PKR6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    You can look at it and see what i'm talking about.
    Compare this clip:
    https://www.amazon.com/Signstek-SOI...1500147028&sr=1-2&keywords=SOIC+adapter+board

    That one would work better.

    Did you check amazon.co.uk?
    I found some stuff there already.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/TEST-CLIP-...F8&qid=1500152097&sr=8-1&keywords=Pomona+5250
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/POM-5250-T...F8&qid=1500152097&sr=8-3&keywords=Pomona+5250

    There's a skypro there too but it uses a USB type (i dont know what it's called) connector instead of micro USB like the one in USA. I don't know if they're the same firmware; there are firmware updates for them though.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/DIY-Tool...&qid=1500152192&sr=8-1&keywords=skypro+eeprom
     
Loading...

Share This Page