Mobile Pascal TDP Tweaker Update and Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by Coolane, Jun 20, 2017.

  1. Robbo99999

    Robbo99999 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    4,246
    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    681
    As Danishblunt said, I'm using a desktop card so the limitations aren't always the same. My GPU has a max allowable power of 265W, but it never uses that much, the most it uses in Firestrike is a hair over 200W, but that's only for brief moments, but in Graphics Test 1 of Firestrike Extreme it will use 198W on average if I let it loop that Graphics Test - this is at a clockspeed of 2050Mhz and a voltage of 1.05V. Those voltages & Mhz and Watts might give you an idea of where you are with your card, but there are differences in power delivery components that mean you might not be able to replicate the same settings. You have water cooling, so your cooling sounds like it's not the limitation. You might be limited in the quality of the power delivery & the quality of the silicon (the well known silicon lottery when it comes to overclocking). You probably also have lower clocked VRAM (I mentioned what I'm running at in my previous post), so you probably have a lower VRAM bandwidth, which doesn't help your score.
     
  2. yb494119459

    yb494119459 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how i see my vram?can i look up it in gpuz? or on chipset of vram.

    通过我的 PRA-AL00X 上的 Tapatalk发言
     
  3. Robbo99999

    Robbo99999 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    4,246
    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Yes, you can see VRAM bandwidth in GPUz on the 'front page'.
     
  4. yb494119459

    yb494119459 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it is 294.7
    what is yours?[​IMG]

    通过我的 PRA-AL00X 上的 Tapatalk发言
     
    Robbo99999 and Falkentyne like this.
  5. Robbo99999

    Robbo99999 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    4,246
    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Ha, that's 2GB/s higher bandwidth than mine! Ok, so VRAM bandwidth is not a problem. You just have to do what you can in terms of a max core overclock. If you can get a stable 2000Mhz (actual frequency reported by sensors in sensor graph of GPUz) on the core during a benchmark you would almost definitely beat my Firestrike Graphics Score due to the fact the laptop GTX 1070 has more cores than the desktop GTX 1070. EDIT: you have 6% more cores on yours so actually a core of 1950Mhz should be enough to beat mine and get 21100+.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  6. Striker1234

    Striker1234 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    107
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    291
    Trophy Points:
    76
  7. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    8,923
    Messages:
    55,534
    Likes Received:
    16,274
    Trophy Points:
    931
    That's tricky, you would need to check the right pins on the MXM are live, then it would be a case if they are that you would need to mod the vbios.
     
  8. trooph

    trooph Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello Guys.
    So.. I own a Clevo laptop with GTX 1070... Subvendor Clevo/Kapok Vendor GPU code is GP104 rev A1 with bios version 86.04.2A.00.0F
    I suffer from an issue where i get power throttling while using 2 displays (one on the laptop and one desktop) causing both displays to flicker and display artifacts. Also there is much powerthrottling on more demanding games like Escape from tarkov or even on csgo with over 144 fps
    I found a guy that runs a hardware repair shop and owns some of SPI programmers. My question is which chip contains my Vbios on the board and which hardware should we use to flash it. Im heading to his office on monday and it would be great if someone could help me out with this as im fed up with this laptop throttling and stuff ;/
     
  9. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Guest

    Reputations:
    0
    If you're unsure and the guy with the shop is as well, I would strongly recommend finding someone else who can look at your notebook before you break it. We already had a person here who broke his MSI notebook.
     
  10. trooph

    trooph Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    The thing is i know this guy fixes stuff...including desoldering whole chips. I just want to give him info to speed up that whole process. I already know he should use 1.8v adapter. I know my laptop well enough but not that good to know its pcb :) thats why im asking. Im kinda confident in this guys knowledge. Its just a matter of double checking everything :)
    i doubt that i will find someone experienced with this kind of stuff near my place of living. I mean i can drive even 300km to get there and pay for his/her help it will fix that darn throttling :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018
Loading...

Share This Page