Mini-ITX AMD Build Advice

Discussion in 'Desktop Hardware' started by DataShell, Aug 10, 2017.

1. DataShell

DataShell Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Howdy lads,

It's been a while since I posted around here, and this build has given me an excuse to include NBR in my life again.

I'm doing a SFF Red Team build
    , and it seems as though all mini-ITX AM4 motherboards require an adapter to fit most coolers. I was just wondering what type I would need, and how to make sure that it would be compatible size-wise. This is my first time doing a mini-ITX build, so general advice or feedback on the component choices would be appreciated.

Oh, and don't mind the empty video card slot. Just waiting for RX Vega to drop. :D

2. Carrot Top

Carrot Top Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Cryorig H7 for the CPU cooler instead of H212 EVO. Better thermal and acoustic performance, easier to install, less likely to have case/RAM clearance issues.

Edit: Arctic Freezer 33 also an option, but very little info on it...

Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
  3. DataShell

DataShell Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    The Cryorig H7 comes up with the same compatibility warning as the H212 Evo:
    [​IMG]

4. Carrot Top

Reputations:
    It's gonna say that for coolers released before Ryzen, but you can get adapter for free if you contact the company. Freezer 33 doesn't have this issue because it's a newer cooler so adapter is already included. Found a review which puts its performance on-par with H7 and better than H212, but unknown how acoustics compare to H7 (quieter than H212 though). But with reference fan (Noctua NF-A15/NF-F12) on all coolers, H7 is 5C cooler than Freezer 33 at low RPM.

Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
    DataShell likes this.
  5. Zuuk

Zuuk Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    ATX power supply and a towercooler? that's not an itx-system :p

[​IMG]

Head to https://smallformfactor.net/forum/ for some food for thought :)
    Some nice builds, good advice, examples etc.