Max Temp T5450 vs T9300

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by hydra, Feb 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Reputations:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I ran a stress test for the T9300. I had to use Everest as TAT refuses to run on the T9300..and possibly the T8300.

    60C both cores MAX for 15 minutes.

    My 5450 hit 70C using TAT on an earlier post.

    Both these CPU's have a TDP of 35W.

    FWIW, Speed Fan and Rivatuner206 do not fully recognize the T9300.
     
  2. K-TRON

    K-TRON Hi, I'm Jimmy Diesel ^_^

    Reputations:
    4,412
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    You can also try running burnmax, and set the priority to high, and that will stress the cores. It should work with any processor.

    That looks good, at least the new chips run cooler.

    K-TRON
     
  3. JCMS

    JCMS Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    That's normal since the T9300 uses 45nm technology while the other one is 65nm I think
     
  4. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,151
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    466
    60c is quite cool compared to the other max temps of another T9300 i saw. Its possible you could have better cooling

    Try using ORTHOS CPU Loader to stress CPU and/or RAM for 10mins and check the temps again using HWMonitor or Coretemp
     
  5. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Reputations:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Your right!

    OK, Orthos is good. The T9300 is as hot as the T5450 when pushed. I wish I could just have run the same program on both CPU's as the T5450 may have run hotter with different die size.

    The temps hit 69 degrees then started dropping on me as I snapshot the screen.

    I used Everest to monitor sensors. CPU core voltage, WD drive, GPU, Core #2, Core#1, CPU and CPU Clock last on right.

    9300.jpg
     
  6. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,613
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,540
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    531
    What are the voltages for each CPU at their maximum speeds? Maybe you have been lucky with your T9300 and it is running towards the lower end of the voltage range for that CPU.

    John
     
  7. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,151
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Im sure the T5450 would have been hotter around 75c if you ran orthos on it

    Id like to know the max voltage for the new penryns aswell.
     
  8. powerpack

    powerpack Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    7,101
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1.00-1.25v for all, the T9300/9500 also have versions 1.062-1.15v
    That is down from the 1.0375 - 1.3v of the Merom except T7100/T7250 1.075 - 1.175v
    Wikki.
     
  9. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,613
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,540
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    531
    The specified voltage ranges are big (with power = V squared/R). Hence we need to know what the actual voltage hard-coded into the test CPU. The range of voltages which can be coded into each CPU can give at least 10C difference in operating temperature if one CPU is pre-set to 1.10V at maximum speed and another with the same model number is pre-set to 1.25V.

    John
     
  10. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,151
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I actually just wanted to compare the default multiplier voltages to see if it drains more or less battery than meroms.

    Looking at the voltages fed to the CPU should be an accurate way to see how much battery life it eats
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page