1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Max Temp T5450 vs T9300

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by hydra, Feb 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    I ran a stress test for the T9300. I had to use Everest as TAT refuses to run on the T9300..and possibly the T8300.

    60C both cores MAX for 15 minutes.

    My 5450 hit 70C using TAT on an earlier post.

    Both these CPU's have a TDP of 35W.

    FWIW, Speed Fan and Rivatuner206 do not fully recognize the T9300.
     
  2. K-TRON

    K-TRON Hi, I'm Jimmy Diesel ^_^

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Location:
    Rensselaer Polytechnic, and Huntington, NY
    You can also try running burnmax, and set the priority to high, and that will stress the cores. It should work with any processor.

    That looks good, at least the new chips run cooler.

    K-TRON
     
  3. JCMS

    JCMS Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Location:
    Québec City
    That's normal since the T9300 uses 45nm technology while the other one is 65nm I think
     
  4. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,217
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Location:
    Sydney
    60c is quite cool compared to the other max temps of another T9300 i saw. Its possible you could have better cooling

    Try using ORTHOS CPU Loader to stress CPU and/or RAM for 10mins and check the temps again using HWMonitor or Coretemp
     
  5. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    Your right!

    OK, Orthos is good. The T9300 is as hot as the T5450 when pushed. I wish I could just have run the same program on both CPU's as the T5450 may have run hotter with different die size.

    The temps hit 69 degrees then started dropping on me as I snapshot the screen.

    I used Everest to monitor sensors. CPU core voltage, WD drive, GPU, Core #2, Core#1, CPU and CPU Clock last on right.

    9300.jpg
     
  6. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,110
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Location:
    Swindon UK
    What are the voltages for each CPU at their maximum speeds? Maybe you have been lucky with your T9300 and it is running towards the lower end of the voltage range for that CPU.

    John
     
  7. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,217
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Location:
    Sydney
    Im sure the T5450 would have been hotter around 75c if you ran orthos on it

    Id like to know the max voltage for the new penryns aswell.
     
  8. powerpack

    powerpack Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, 60626. Rogers Park
    1.00-1.25v for all, the T9300/9500 also have versions 1.062-1.15v
    That is down from the 1.0375 - 1.3v of the Merom except T7100/T7250 1.075 - 1.175v
    Wikki.
     
  9. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,110
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Location:
    Swindon UK
    The specified voltage ranges are big (with power = V squared/R). Hence we need to know what the actual voltage hard-coded into the test CPU. The range of voltages which can be coded into each CPU can give at least 10C difference in operating temperature if one CPU is pre-set to 1.10V at maximum speed and another with the same model number is pre-set to 1.25V.

    John
     
  10. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,217
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Location:
    Sydney
    I actually just wanted to compare the default multiplier voltages to see if it drains more or less battery than meroms.

    Looking at the voltages fed to the CPU should be an accurate way to see how much battery life it eats
     
  11. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    Right or wrong, 1.3V(rounded up from 1.25)@2.5Ghz max is displayed. At idle I see 1.1V @ 0.5Ghz when stepping.

    I have not run any battery tests but guessing that if both CPU's hit an indicated 70C, battery life should be close.
     
  12. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,110
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Location:
    Swindon UK
    Thanks for the additional info.

    1.3V is at the upper end of the specified range, so that's good if you are seeing less heat that that voltage. It means Penryn is drawing less power than Merom. I wonder how far Penryn will undervolt (however, RMClock doesn't properly support Penryn yet).

    John
     
  13. jaxxx

    jaxxx Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    is the t8300 2.4ghz a penryn processor? too? whats the difference between the t9300?
     
  14. ahl395

    ahl395 Ahlball

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8,228
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    The Penryn T9300 will run cooler, thats part of the 45 nanometer technology.
     
  15. ahl395

    ahl395 Ahlball

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8,228
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    T8300 - Penryn (45-nm) 2.4GHz / 3MB L2 Cashe
    T9300 - Penryn (45-nm) 2.5GHz/ 6MB L2 Cashe

    ^The T9300 has a proformance increase over the T8300 with 2X the Cashe amount which is a pretty imporant spec to look at.
     
  16. praneeth

    praneeth Sanath Jaya Suriya!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I'm seeing similar numbers on CPU-z. except in the idle (8x - 1.6ghz) mode where it drops down to 1.063v.

    Mostly shows 1.1125v.

    This is on a T8300. Doesn't heat up much though. Was in the low 40's even when WPrime, 3D Mark etc were running.
     
  17. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    ..as suggested to me by flipfire; try ORTHOS CPU Loader for 10 minutes.

    You will need to run a second program in the background to watch or log your temps.

    Let us know, the T8300 has the same TDP as the T9300.
     
  18. worx

    worx Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    For some reason coretemp recognizes my T9300 as: Intel Xeon 5190 (Wolfdale) LGA 771.I am using version 0.96.1. Anyone know why?
     
  19. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    ..probably need updates for the Penryn. I'm finding lots of utilities breaking with them, like TAT, HDmonitor and others.
     
  20. Leo7

    Leo7 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    UK
    Just got my T9300 equipped laptop at max load it uses 1.338v (interestingly cpu-z showed the clock speed at 2.7Ghz at this voltage). However when it says 2.5Ghz it uses 1.250v

    Side-stepped at 1.2Ghz it uses 1.063v.

    I'm not sure if it would go any lower when i'm using less than 4% cpu because I just got the laptop and I'm burning my recovery discs to do a clean install.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page