Mac user going PC

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by everc1, Feb 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. everc1

everc1 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    As the subject describes, I am somewhat new to the pc arena. I need a computer to comfortably manipulate intensive 3D models in AutoCad and rendering packages of the like. I also need to throw around photoshop files (big ones) with ease.

$2000.00 - $2500.00 is my budget.

I have looked at Gateway (big screen one, but not happy with craftsmanship).

Dell Inspiron 8600 (not impressed w. customer support reviews)

IBM Thinkpad T series

I need a 128 MB graphics card too.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

2. Brian

Brian Working at 486 Speed NBR Reviewer

Reputations:
    Do you need battery life or portability? That's going to be the trade off with raw power.

Editor in Chief http://www.bargainPDA.com and http://www.SPOTstop.com

3. everc1

Reputations:
    I do not need battery life or portability.

4. nonprophet

nonprophet Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hi,

I too am a ex-machead, their weak 90 day only tech support coverage($35 per incident after that....) with a new computer really was the final straw for me......

I've narrowed it down to Fujitsu and Toshiba. Fujitsu makes some very nice machines, and they offer LIFETIME tech support on their computers at no cost. They also have a VERY good reputation for customer service, build quality, and tech support which is very important to me--frankly I wouldn't even think about doing business with Dell--their website with constantly changing prices/warranties, etc. and a price that alwys is $200 more than they said it would be...I just think their business model is waaaaay to sleazy, plus I don't speak Hindu for when I deal with their tech support people....