M4800 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by changt34x, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. venom_guilty

    venom_guilty Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Did you try 1920p resolution?

    I got quite a few problems with some programs but I like the Qhd
    so I normally change the resolution to 1920 when some label became unreadable



    Sent from my SGP321 using Tapatalk
     
  2. venom_guilty

    venom_guilty Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I tried win 10 with Uefi and there are some problems with communication between hardware and win, the event viewer keep sending error every second, something related to wifi card not responding and keep win crashing after using some heavy use

    I change back to legacy, run smoothly from last month til now, yet to crash

    I use dual win 10 & Ubuntu 16.04 LTs,

    Sent from my SGP321 using Tapatalk
     
  3. tangipahoa

    tangipahoa Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, venom. I've read (and tried to understand) a good bit about dual-booting, and the inherent problems led me to think if I could just switch hard drives, I could avoid a lot of conflicts (and nefarious Win 10 updates).

    Can someone address the topic of switching drives, as opposed to dual-booting?
     
    tyrell_corp likes this.
  4. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    629
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    637
    Trophy Points:
    131
    If you switch drives, you will have no problem... You will want to have them both using legacy boot, or both using UEFI; if they are different, you will have to toggle that in the BIOS every time you swap drives. (Linux Mint works fine with UEFI in my experience... I'm not sure about with Secure Boot enabled though — and I honestly don't use it much anymore now that you can run a pseudo-Linux instance from inside of Windows on later versions of Windows 10, I find that it suits my needs just fine.)

    You could have both drives installed together (one mSATA and one 2.5"?) and just use the F12 menu at boot time to decide which one to boot up. You would want to have them installed individually when setting up each OS initially to make sure that each OS's boot stuff only lives on one drive. I don't think that upgrades on either OS would cause you any grief in this scenario.

    It should be possible to have both OS's happily sharing the same UEFI boot partition, and you would be able to select the OS from the F12 menu at boot time... UEFI is designed to support this, but I've never tried to set it up with dual-boot before.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
    tangipahoa likes this.
  5. venom_guilty

    venom_guilty Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I dual-boot Ubuntu and win 10 on the same HDD for my desktop but seperate drive in my previous thinkpad x230 with UFEI, everything is smooth.

    Last time I set win on HDD on caddy Bay for hotswap, Ubuntu on msata, swap is easy without trouble, but not when I try Uefi, I haven't found the reason yet

    Personally, I recommend Legacy for better hardware - software "cooperation", may be its just my m4800

    Sent from my SGP321 using Tapatalk
     
  6. alexhawker

    alexhawker Spent Gladiator

    Reputations:
    457
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    737
    Trophy Points:
    131
    This is how I've done it in the past, though I had another 2.5" SSD in place of the optical drive, rather than using an mSATA.
     
  7. tyrell_corp

    tyrell_corp Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    82
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hello All,

    Just wanted to inform you guys about fact that Dell Finally admitting (what I have discovered 3 years! ago) on my own. I spoke about it here on the forum. there is a second vulnerability that is being used currently and it relates to drivers (bridge) but proving it will be difficult as most likely its done by someone who writes them. "it" (not he she) selling out to shadow circle of "friends" that share the vulnerabilities across the industry including Routers.

    Hackers managed to steal my data and expose it. again knowledge of this brought me to think all systems are vulnerable to low level hardware attack and only ip v6 + firwall +VPN, somewhat can mitigate this, but at some point driver comes out and fishes all needed to penetrate again. those who know what I'm talking about will understand. (anti-virus is a placebo in such cases and only slows the application level attacks)

    its not about catching terrorists/bad guys whatever, its all about data hoarding. and to do that you must create reason and issue. (my own opinion)

    AMT Vulnerability Intel Systems.PNG
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2017
  8. tyrell_corp

    tyrell_corp Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    82
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Have done exact same thing, its easy to swap, and also you can use Esata port as 3rd sata via adapter some cost 2$, and avoid drive headache.



     
  9. tyrell_corp

    tyrell_corp Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    82
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I have tried M2000M it works on 1080P boards and needs special VBIOS to work on QHD variants. (note it may also need same firmware to work on 1080P) hope it helps

    one importat thing Laptop boots from cold and reboots 5 times subsequently recognizing its parts CPU,GPU,Board<screen so when you have started wait and let it start/shutdown/start/shutdown ect logo appeares on 4th 5th boot (dell technicians dont know this and replace boards 2-3 times

     
  10. alexhawker

    alexhawker Spent Gladiator

    Reputations:
    457
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    737
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Why is this about Dell admitting something, when it's Intel's tech and they're the ones who admitted there was an issue 5 months ago (in May)?

    I understand you were hacked, and that's terrible/not something I'd wish on anyone, but this seems more like Dell-hating arising from frustration, rather than real wrongdoing on Dell's part. AFAIK no OEM released any fixes/BIOS updates until Intel published the problem. It's certainly fair to take issue with the speed (or lack thereof) with which OEMs address the issue, but I'd argue this puts Dell squarely in the middle of the pack (some released BIOS updates very quickly, some still have not).
     
Loading...

Share This Page