M4800 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by changt34x, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. Marcel1966

    Marcel1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just bought it as refurbished. Don;t know how old it is.
     
  2. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    231
    In the BIOS there should be an information-type page which shows the build date.
     
  3. Marcel1966

    Marcel1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I just bought it as refurbished, I don't know how old it is. But do I need to replace the connector?
     
  4. Marcel1966

    Marcel1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    O.K I will look it up.
     
  5. nabeel moeen

    nabeel moeen Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    HI,
    I have an M4800 with K1100 Nvidia and recently got hold of an old PR02X docking station.
    The issue I have is that my Samsung UHD monitor is recognized but does not display anythinig when connected to the Displayport of the docking station, on any resolution (tried to take it down to 1024 x 768 with no success).
    After a lot of experimenting i figured out I could get the monitor to display by connecting the via HDMI cable (HDMI on the monitor) and HDMI to DP converter on the docking station.
    This works, and alos allows me to use the full 4K resolution (but only at 30 Hz).

    I had 2 questions if anyone can help:
    1. why isn't the monitor working on DP, even though it is detected.
    2. when running on HDMI setup, it still shows as using the Intel HD4600 GPU. While a second monitor (HP 23xi) connected via DVI (and also tried DVI to HDMI) does operate on the Nvidia GPU

    Is there anywhere I can configure what adapter each monitor uses?

    Thanks
     
  6. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Normally, the internal screen and VGA run on the Intel GPU, and everything else runs on the NVIDIA GPU. However, in the BIOS, in the switchable graphics section, there is a checkbox that will set one of the DVI/DP ports on the dock to also run on the Intel GPU. It sounds like you might have this checkbox set, try clearing it and then check your monitor again.

    Alternatively, disable switchable graphics completely, and everything will run on the NVIDIA GPU.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2016
  7. nabeel moeen

    nabeel moeen Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hey, yeah thanks. got the idea from another post a few pages back and rightly so, as you mentioned the flag to running DP1 on internal graphics was set.

    Unchecking it makes both external displays work on NVIDIA, but the 4K monitor will only go up to 1920 x 1080! this is worse than on the intel.

    any ideas?
     
  8. hodgeMN

    hodgeMN Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    49
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I can confirm this 1920x1080 screen is plug and play for those that have the eDP m4800 version with the firepro GPU and want to upgrade from the 1366 x 768 panel (this also works in the new Alienware 15R2):

    http://www.panelook.com/B156HAN01.2_AUO_15.6_LCM_overview_19049.html

    Purchased one from here for under $40 - appear to be lots left:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/171713910184?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT


    Mine came a little dirty but had no dead pixels or bleed. Beautiful screen.
     
  9. krx

    krx Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Fellow owners, has anybody experienced or heard about solving of webcam problems on the M4800?

    Symptom: webcam is connected / disconnected sometimes every second(!), you hear the windows device connect / disconnect sound as well. When it surprisingly works, the light near the webcam is far from steady, it looks like it is blinking really fast (or maybe this is supposed to be the normal operation? – not sure if there's a connection between the two).

    So it looks like some connection / contact problem, the question would be if anybody knows where to look at the first place. Thanks in advance!
     
  10. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Haven't had any issues with webcam in M4800. On my M6700, I have had issues with it not showing after the system was taken apart for another issue. Turned out to be just not plugged in well. Sounds like this might be your issue as well. Internally, it is just a USB device, although the connector is different than USB.

    Go to the service manual and figure out where it is plugged in to the motherboard. If I recall, it is a connector you can access just by removing the keyboard (easy, just remove trim + five screws). Make sure that it is plugged in good.
     
    krx likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page