M4700 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by ejl1980, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. Quicklite

    Quicklite Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    149
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    56

    Thanks - very helpful - only available from Alibaba so I better order now (2 weeks shipping!)

    Query - noticed that you've got a M6700 and a 7510 - are there much noticeable difference in speed in normal / non-pro workload? (I assume you've got SSD in both?) Asking as I still use 2nd gen M4600//M6600 quite a bit (still fast - though the small lag is there even with SSD). Saw a fully loaded M4800 today at work (4910QM @2.9Ghz / upto 3.9Ghz Turbo, 512GB SSD) - it just felt super smooth. Have used newer machine e.g. M6800 before and it didn't feel as fast - wasn't sure if it was just placebo effect or it was the fully loaded spec / definitely curious if newer is noticeably faster.
     
  2. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    578
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    101
    I've noticed that the SSD is definitely faster in my 7510. I'd chalk this up to SATA vs NVMe (and also, I've never had a Samsung "Pro" SSD in the M6700, just the consumer/budget ones). I can tell because, I sometimes run software installs or updates simultaneously on both machines, and the 7510 always finishes first. I can also tell that the 7510 is more power efficient than the M6700 -- the battery lasts almost twice as long under light load. I also like the fan behavior of the 7510 much better.... The M6700 really kicks up the fans for a moment when they turn on, but in the 7510 they power up much more gradually so it is much less noticeable.

    Aside from that, I haven't noticed much difference between them... CPU performance isn't drastically different, and the GPU can't be compared (I have the most high-end Quadro in the M6700 and the most low-end Quadro in the 7510).
     
  3. Gerald_Alla

    Gerald_Alla Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi ! Can anyone tell me the maximum CPU, GPU, RAM u can put in a Dell Precision M4700 ?
    (I've read in previous comments that quadro M2000m is compatibile with this laptop)
     
  4. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    578
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Quadro M2000M works. Quadro M2200 could possibly work (haven't seen anyone try it, probably still sort of hard to find by itself ...).
    CPU, can't go any higher than Ivy Bridge, so 3940XM.
    32GB RAM (Four 8 GB modules)
     
  5. TheReciever

    TheReciever Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    82
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Also according to one member the 965m also works, would love some screenshots on that. M4700's are starting to get cheaper so it might be a good choice from a value standpoint.

    Also if anyone at all can help out @valuxin with his requests I would very much appreciate it.

    The 965m would save this laptop hes also working on some other methods of enhancement.

    If a guide for RWEverything is needed ill try and figure it out (as I also am inexperienced with it) and make a short step by step guide for what he needs.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2017
  6. jack53

    jack53 Samsung ATIV Book 6 Lover!

    Reputations:
    402
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Glad to see the Dell Precision M4700 is still going here. I just ordered one from Arrow Direct . com for $340.
    Don't know exact specs such as type of GPU or if I get four Memory slots until I get it unless someone tells me?
    This is all the specs I have until I get it:

    DELL PRECISION M4700
    2.7 Ghz Intel Core i7 Gen3 256 SSD GB 8192 MB memory

    • Ecomm Sku Value: M4700-27i7-8-256SSD-DVD-10P64-A
    • OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
    • Condition Type A Grade
     
  7. lujanhm99

    lujanhm99 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    memory depends on type of CPU - if the Core i7 is model ending with QM it means it has 4 cores - so you can use 4 memory slots. If it is ending just with M it is dual core and you can use only two slots. In the specs is not exact CPU so you just have to hope.

    Good luck
     
  8. jack53

    jack53 Samsung ATIV Book 6 Lover!

    Reputations:
    402
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ah yes, I'm now guessing which CPU, GPU and Display screen I'm getting.
    Website didn't say what type of Display the 15.4" screen had?
    • 15.6" HD(1366x768): anti-glare, LED-backlit
    • 15.6" FHD(1920x1080): Dell UltraSharp™, wide view, anti-glare, LED-backlit, Premium Panel

    Or type of GPU:
    • AMD FirePro M4000 Mobility Pro with 1GB GDDR5 dedicated memory
    • NVIDIA Quadro K1000M with 2GB GDDR3 dedicated memory
    • NVIDIA Quadro K2000M with 2GB GDDR3 dedicated memory

    Or CPU:
    QM or M

    If it only has the HD(1366x768) I'm going to send it back. I can live with the lesser CPU and GPU.
     
  9. Rantunes

    Rantunes Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm about to buy a Quadro M2000M for my M4700 and I need to know a few things before I take the plunge.

    I´m looking to swap a FirePro M4000 for the Quadro.
    I browsed through this thread and picked up some info about the compatibility that I would like to check first:
    • I´ve read that the AMD heatsink isn't compatible with the Nvidia GPU. I would have to get one of those. Does the K2000M one fit?
    • Aside from the custom vBIOS and Inf, do I need anything else to assure the compatibility on the GPU side?
    • Do I need to change anything in the BIOS as well?
    • Can someone please briefly explain what the Nvidia Optimus issue is and if there is any fix?
    Thanks!
     
  10. iieeann

    iieeann Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    298
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    41
    1. Yes you have to get NV heatsink for NV card. The difference is the depth at main chipset.
    2. vBios... i don't think required unless u are too lazy to modify INF every time new driver comes out and you hate to see the "Test Mode xxx" wordings at the bottom right of your windows desktop.
    3. No. Just to make sure the "Enable Optimus" is turn off to use the NV card.
    4. Precision series has no automatic GPU switching capability like some other laptop. To use Intel card, you need to go into bios to turn on the "Enable Optimus" function. It will never switch to NV card no matter what kind of load is pushed to the graphic card. To use NV card, need to go into bios to turn off "Enable Optimus" function again, and the intel GPU will not take over eventhough with zero load.

    To me this is an excellent setting done by Dell although may not be battery friendly. No issue such as "why the CAD software is not using my Professional graphic card but the lousy iGPU?". Those laptop with automatic GPU switching (Alienware for instance) is not able to output discrete GPU through thunderbolt plus some other limitations

    Note for M6700, Intel GPU cannot output through DisplayPort, only HDMI.
     
Loading...

Share This Page