M4700 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by ejl1980, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. UltraGSM

    UltraGSM ...so many Alienwares...

    Reputations:
    705
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Hey, I have an offer just for you my man, check this out, I will send you PM now ;)
     
  2. PityOnU

    PityOnU Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Having some issues with my M4700. I'm using a FirePro M5100 graphics card (upgraded from the stock FirePro M4000). Running Windows 10 64-bit with all the latest drivers.

    Windows seems to be ignoring my sleep settings. I set to never, but it sometimes sleeps after just a few minutes.

    To combat this, I went and got Insomnia to basically force the system to stay on by holding a wakelock. That seems to be working fine to keep the machine on, but I get intermitent (once every few days) system-wide lockups where everything just stops responding and the screen goes black.

    My guess (at this point) is that this is just a side effect of using the FirePro M5100 in a system is wasn't meant for, and that I just have to deal with it.

    However, if anyone else has any guesses as to what the problem may be, I'm all ears :)
     
  3. mr_handy

    mr_handy Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Is is relatively easy/inexpensive to replace the LCD on these from HD (1366x768?) to FHD (1920x1080)? My employer is getting rid of one, and I could buy it from them very cheaply, but I've no use for a 15" lowres computer.

    This is, I suppose, as much a question of being able to source a compatible panel as the actual reinstallation.
     
  4. PityOnU

    PityOnU Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not sure about cost of panels, but disassembly/replacement seems fairly straightforward. If you go to Dell's website, you can download an Owner's Manual for this laptop that comes with a 40+ page walk-through about how to disassemble to whole thing and put it all back together, along with some really nice figures.

    If I recall correctly, once you pop off the bezel (a single plastic piece that just pop into place with plastic tabs), it's just 4 or 5 screws and a ribbon cable to remove the old display and put a new one in.

    Other people here should be able to supply you with specific model numbers for displays.
     
  5. mr_handy

    mr_handy Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Thanks, yeah; I've done 1-for-1 replacements of panels on Latitudes before, and the manual doesn't look too bad on this one. OTOH, sometimes there are other complications to the HD to FHD swap (sometimes different LVDS cable, in rarer cases a different mounting or bezel.)
     
  6. csih

    csih Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello recently i upgraded my m4700 from K1000M to K2100M and everything works perfect. My question is since i need more juice..does the newest M2000M work on M4700 with the K2100M heatsink? Or is it possible to unlock K2100M Bios to overclock it beyond +135MHZ?
     
  7. Gast24

    Gast24 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Oh Nice! Did you buy a Dell Branded K2100m or one with a regular bios? Do all Display outputs work? It would be great if the M200M works Flawless because then i don´t need to buy a new Laptop/PC because i am on a budget now.
    Keep us updated! Youre welcome!
     
  8. csih

    csih Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5

    Yes i bought a Dell Branded. All Display outpouts working as intended. Now im currently looking for an M2000M to test it because im happy with the laptop and there is no need to change it for the GPU
     
  9. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    699
    Messages:
    3,636
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    181
    We have confirmation from two users that Quadro M5000M works in M6700 without any hassle. I think it is likely that Quadro M2000M works in M4700, because the product generations are the same, but I haven't seen report of anyone who has actually tried it.
     
  10. Gast24

    Gast24 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Sounds great, cause the only reason why i have to buy a new laptop is the limited gpu ram with 2gb and Davinci Resolve needs 4gb Gpus.
    So keep us updated!
    I also found two interessting parts:
    The original Drive Bay Caddy (i own one but from a different seller and the pgd96 part number) :
    https://www.parts-people.com/index.php?action=item&id=18831
    And this looks like the two heatpipe cooler for the extreme Edition CPU (the normal is having only one heatpipe):
    https://www.parts-people.com/index.php?action=item&id=18821
     
Loading...

Share This Page