M4700 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by ejl1980, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. virtualeyes

    virtualeyes Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    6
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've tried from BIOS setup screen, boot loader, and within the OS itself.

    I'm able to get the caps locks key to flash, but only once. Apparently when Fn + Shift + 15324 works the caps lock key will blink repeatedly which signals that you can then enter Fn +r to get engineer mode to show up.

    I suspect that the single caps lock blink indicates that Dell has disabled this "feature" for newer Precisions, which means the only way to get a quiet multi-monitor setup is you:

    1) must use a Windows OS with Optimus enabled
    2) connect 1 external monitor via VGA (which is linked to built-in Intel GPU)
    3) connect 1 other monitor via HDMI or DisplayPort (connected to Nvidia/AMD GPU)

    Meanwhile Linux users are completely hosed :confused: until Nivida fully supports Optimus.

    Don't think the multi-monitor GPU heat issue is isolated to Dell systems, have seen Lenovo W530 users complain about thermal/fan issues on their systems as well, even when running a Windows OS.

    The joys of modern mobile computing, how "advanced" ...

     
  2. blukazs

    blukazs Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi, I have another screen question.
    I sold my macbook pro 15 with retina display about 6 months ago and bough a m4700, 16gb | k2000 | i7-3840QM with the regular TN display.
    Its not tragic, but its much worse than the ips from my macbook. There are not manu options left... acording to the hackpad display list icould swap it wit the AUO v4 display, but there is another option IPS.
    The LP156WF4-SLB6 is the replacment IPS from hp envy 15 with fixed red/orange colors. LVDS (2 ch, 6-bit) same as The AUO.
    Someone swapped the ips from the envy with the AUO panel and it worked, but he couldnt assemble the screen cause the AUO panel is nearly as twice as the IPS panel. http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-envy-hdx/636482-envy-15-ips-red-vs-orange-tally-33.html#post8376146
    So theoritically it should fit into the m4700 and work properly, but you will have a gap between the panel and the lcd bezel?? Anybody tried it??
     
  3. zerosource

    zerosource Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    161
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    31
    What's your temp?
     
  4. crystallakegary

    crystallakegary Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    39
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Recently received my refurb M4700. Being returned since it shipped with the dreaded Chi Mei LCD screen.

    Before deciding to return, Dell asked if I would consider a replacement panel. When Dell Tech called to set up appointment to install, he advised Dell had sent another Chi Mei LCD screen - N156HGE-L11. Before setting up appointment for install, I checked and this Chi Mei panel sells for $38.88 in HK (see link below). It is not even a premium panel, like the LG panel.

    CHIMEI INNOLUX 15.6 Lcd Screen 1920*1080 N156HGE-L11 Lcd Module - Lcd Displays And Lcd Modules Quotation for 50 from China (Mainland) on Alibaba.com

    Imagine, a $1500 workstation, and Dell puts a $38 LCD panel in it!
     
  5. JulienEragon

    JulienEragon Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi everyone !

    I want to upgrade my Precision but i dit not find any responses about my interrogations, maybe you can take a look !

    I currently have an 750Gb hard drive and I want to add a 256Gb SSD. What is the best ? Buy a 2.5" SSD and put it in remplacement of the optical drive or buy a mSATA SSD and put it in the mSATA port ?
    Finally, why mSATA SSD are generally more expansive than 2.5" ones ?

    Thanks :)
     
  6. Gast24

    Gast24 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5

    If you Really don´t need the Optical Drive - buy an Drive Caddy, put the Harddrive into the Caddy and mount the SSD into the Main Bay. Because the mSATA and Optical Bay only has an SATA II interface despite the main bay whit an SATA III Interface. If you use a Samsung EVO Drive you might have some trouble like me with the Main port wich can be solved with a minor trick.
     
  7. jj@frontier.net

    jj@frontier.net Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yet another external monitor question:

    M4700 with k2000m. The internal display runs 1920x1080 off the integrated graphics as does a VGA connected Dell 17" at 1280x1024. A Sony HDTV runs off the HDMI port at 1920x1080 with the benefit of passing through audio to our sound system with no additional cables. A Dell 20" runs off the Display port with a DVI adapter. All of this works fine with no docking station.

    I added the Dell E-port plus dock (no USB 3) which takes away the HDMI port. I found that the Display ports on the dock do not work with audio and an active Display port to HDMI adapter -- you get a message that the port is in use by another program when it's clearly not.

    But plugging the same adapter into the built-in Display port on the right side of the body works fine with audio pass through. I run the 17 through the dock VGA and the 20 from one of the DVI dock ports (or from the corresponding Displayport with an adapter -- either works fine).

    Here's my problem: when I try to plug in a Dell 2408 at 1920x1200 to the second Displayport on the dock, it will not allow that at the same time as the Sony TV. I can select either but not both, regardless of whether or not the 20" is plugged in or not. Apparently the k2000m cannot drive a 1920x1080 and a 1920 x 1200 at the same time.

    Is this right? If so, fine. But I couldn't find anything anywhere that suggested this should not work. Do I have to daisy chain a new Display port monitor to get this to work, or is it just impossible on the k2000m?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  8. TERRA Operative

    TERRA Operative Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm just wondering if anyone has a part number or a source to buy the controller card for the fingerprint reader/card reader?
    I have a fingerprint reader palmrest I want to install (my laptop didn't have this installed when I bought it) but I have found I also need the controller card too.


    [EDIT]

    After going through multiple levels of Dell support, I finally found the part number, it's 3MW70 for the module, and part number CW6W6 for the interconnect cable.
    Dell US want about $46 for the part, which is an ok price, but Dell Australia want $110... :eek: (Dell won't ship between regions)

    A trip Google found a module for a really cheap price, but the cable is either unobtanium or *really* stupid expensive. So instead I ordered a 20 pin, 0.5mm pitch FFC (Flex ribbon cable) from ebay to try out.
     
  9. veronek

    veronek Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello guys, I'm new owner of M4700.

    If ive got K1000M, i5 3380, can I buy k2100M and use it normal instead of K100M?
     
  10. cgilley

    cgilley Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i'm at war with Dell. Maybe some of you can chime in with your experiences. I have a Precision 4700, SSD (added by me), 16GB ram (added by me), ATI card. It's a code development machine, so I use 2 displays, and occasionally game (nothing serious).

    About 3 months ago, my 4700 locked up on boot. After much anguish and travail, Dell agreed that the ATI card was bad. The original card is no longer available, so they have a 7700M to install. Tech came out, swapped out the card, all is well.

    Yesterday, the #$%$#^$^ system did it again. Scrambled video - no blue screen, just hung. So a few questions:

    1) What is the performance difference between a 7700M and the Nvidia cards?
    2) Have any of you had issues with the ATI card?
    3) Have any of you noticed any issues with HDMI and DisplayPort usage?

    Right now, Dell wants to swap out the card and my motherboard. Open heart surgery, so I'm skittish....
     
Loading...

Share This Page