M4700 GPU Upgrade

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by mx90, Dec 18, 2018.

  1. mx90

    mx90 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello, I'm trying to upgrade my M4700's gpu from a K2000M to a M2200. I've already installed it, but I've run into some issues. Also, I've learned that it came from an HP laptop.

    First of all, the card's vbios version is 84.06.51.00.05 which matches this post for a M2000: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/186135/186135

    That in itself strikes me as odd, considering the fact that the card registers in Device Manager with the following hardware ID:
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1436&SUBSYS_153E1028&REV_A1

    I've tried modifying the drivers from nVidia and the drivers from Dell for the Quadro cards to match my system, but I'm seeing (Code 43) in Device Manager every time after completing the install and rebooting.

    I have this vbios: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205283/dell-quadrom2200-4096-161024 that I could attempt to use with nvflash, but I'm not sure if that's appropriate.

    For the record, this is the relevant line that I'm trying to edit in my .inf:
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1436.07B0.1028% = Section136, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1436&SUBSYS_07B01028

    Since the vbios on the card is using 1430 instead of 1436 as a device ID, should my .inf be something like this?

    %NVIDIA_DEV.1430.153E.1028% = Section136, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1436&SUBSYS_153E1028

    Please post if you can help with this, and thanks!
     
  2. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    699
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I'm not sure about the M2200, but previous cards' HP vBIOS is known to have issues in the Precision, and reflashing a Dell vBIOS usually fixes it.

    If you are able to run the NVIDIA driver setup.exe file and it does not complain about not being able to find matching hardware, then you have modified the INF file correctly (or at least you matched on the device hardware ID). Note that if you want to use Optimus, there are two different hardware IDs in the INF files (depending on whether Optimus is enabled or not) — they differ by having a 1 and 0 swapped out, AND they changed what the 1 and 0 mean between when the Precision 7000 series was introduced. I have some more information on this in my M5000M upgrade thread (link in signature).

    I'd say, flash a Dell vBIOS and see how that works. You'll probably need to pass override flags to nvflash because it will be mad that the hardware ID doesn't match what is in the vBIOS. This is unknown territory though, I can't say for sure that it will work or that it won't make things worse somehow...
     
  3. mx90

    mx90 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am using Optimus, could that be the reason a Code 43 would be flagged? I'll take a look at your thread and try to figure out where that is located in the .inf. In the meantime, I did try to flash it with that dell vbios. Most of the nvflash versions don't get very far, but this one got the furthest using the command: --index=0 -6 -GM206.ROM
    https://www.techpowerup.com/download/nvidia-nvflash-with-board-id-mismatch-disabled/

    Here's the screenshot of when it crashes.. anyone know if there's a better version, or some way around this crash?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    699
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Don't know what to say about that. Some people have had more success booting a Linux live CD/USB and running nvflash from there, when it is being difficult. (I should have mentioned, make sure that you saved a copy of the vBIOS that came on your card in case you need to flash it back.)

    Messing up the INF file with regards to Optimus won't result in something like a code 43. It will just result in Optimus not working. (Device manager looks good, but everything renders on the Intel GPU no matter what you try.)
     
  5. mx90

    mx90 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well, the good news about that is that I believe I've identified the 0 and 1 setting you're talking about in the .inf, so I should be ready to address that when I'm at that stage. I did save a copy of the original vBios, but out of curiosity I attempted to flash the card with that and got a different error entirely stating that there was a GPU Mismatch. I find this quite odd, since it's already on the card now o_O
     
  6. silverchairbg

    silverchairbg Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @mx90 Did you use --save from nvflash or GPU-Z to save a copy of the original bios? Try with both and compare the resulting .rom file. I would count on valid .rom file being produced only from nvflash, I had issues with GPU-Z saving of the vbios before. Usually it would require you to go to Device Manager and disable the display adapter (your video), prior to trying to save. So just use nvflash for the save.
     
  7. mx90

    mx90 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I tried this just now, but the result was the same. As for now, I'm attempting to make a bootable drive to run the maxwell versions of nvflash from. For whatever reason, I'm getting "No NVIDIA display adapters found" as an error when using these particular versions (Modified by Joe Dirt).
     
  8. silverchairbg

    silverchairbg Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @mx90 Could you please provide the original vbios of your card, so I can experiment with mine? I've attached the vbios of mine here.
     

    Attached Files:

    mx90 likes this.
  9. mx90

    mx90 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for that. What type of laptop is this from? I mentioned earlier that mine came from an HP laptop, and here it is:
    http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=35500690059014099827

    edit2: my first edit was a mistake, I accidentally tried with my original vbios again :rolleyes: When I tried with the vbios you posted, nvflash froze at the exact same spot as when I tried with the M2200 vbios listed online (with the version ending in 1C).
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2018
  10. silverchairbg

    silverchairbg Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @mx90 My card is from a Dell M7520 according to the ebay seller. Yours must be from an HP Zbook G4, as this is the only HP model I can find with this card.

    On a side note, I am able to reflash my original vbios that I've attached here, also I am able to flash successfully this one: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205283/dell-quadrom2200-4096-161024

    I get no errors on either one of them, flash is successful. So for whatever reason you get the GPU Mismatch error, it's some other issue and not related to those vbios-es. I'll try to help further once I get home and fire up the nvflash.
     
Loading...

Share This Page