M4000M on a M6800

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by Tom1966, Jun 23, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom1966

    Tom1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi! I´ve tried to get a M4000M working on my dell. Yes, it will work and no, i cannot install the normal Driver package neither from Nvidia nor from Dell. So i have unpacked the Driver and installed it directly in the System of W10/64bit.
    Even when i try to install it: message - no nvidia Hardware found (just a joke...)
    Does anyone know the reason therefor? It´s a dell M4000M (i know, it is newer as the lap itself) and it is working and "present"...?
    Regards - Tom

    Btw. IPS is possible on a M6800 machine! And there are "worlds" between the TN screen and the IPS (AUO B173HAN01.0 LED Display 17,3" eDP Full-HD).
     
  2. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,694
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Trophy Points:
    231
  3. Tom1966

    Tom1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi, i´ve found this ones, but i have more lines in Hardware ID:
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_15CD1028&REV_A1
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_15CD1028
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&CC_030000
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&CC_0300

    I´ve set the M4000M to 15CD1028. The installer has started without an error. Then the screen goes blank and a Driver error Comes up. Instead of M4000M in the System Manager the Windows graphics sign has been shown.
     
  4. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,694
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Do you know where your M4000M came from? If it is an HP card you will need to load a Dell vBIOS on it.
     
  5. iieeann

    iieeann Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    308
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    41
    You have to enable test mode. Right bottom corner of your desktop should show 3 lines of permanent sentences, example like below.
    [​IMG]
    You won't be able to remove those lines until you install a Dell card. You may use a wall paper which is white case at bottom right corner to cover it.

    Flash with Dell vbios will not change the hardware ID. It can only solve compatibility problem.
     
  6. DynamiteZerg

    DynamiteZerg Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    41
    IIRC, HP MXM cards do not contain a full vbios. The majority of their vbios resides in the main bios. I know as I came across it before. I bought a K4100M from fleabay that wouldn't work regardless of what I did. The moment the system switches to the K4100M the whole system will error out and hang before the game/program I'm running will abruptly crash and throw back to the desktop.

    A forum member then suggests that the K4100M could have originated from a HP system and upon checking I confirmed it was the case as the vbios it dumps out is quite small. Another forum member then provided a copy his K4100M vbios from his M6800. After flashing my card with the Dell vbios, everything worked!

    So to @Tom1966 use the latest nvflash to dump a copy of the M4000M vbios. Then head to TechPowerUp and compare to the vbios of a M4000M in their database. If the file size differs by quite a lot, then it is from a HP system. Or alternatively, hope that another member here sees your message and provides a copy of their M4000M vbios from their Dell systems. Oh yes, the vbios does not necessarily have to be from a Dell system. Any vbios, other than HP, should work.
     
  7. Tom1966

    Tom1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi to all... now it seems to become difficult... I´ve bought this Card as a pull from a M7710 lap. HWinfo says that it is a "Dell". I think i´ve made Errors by editing the .inf-file. The Card and the Driver is still working when installed directly over Windows System Manager. For editing i have used the dell Driver from the 7710: (red are my additions:)
    List of Card, at the end...
    NVIDIA_DEV.13F8.06DA.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M5000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.13F8.16DA.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M5000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.06DA.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M4000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.15CD.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M4000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.16DA.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M4000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.13FA.06DA.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M3000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.13FA.16DA.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro M3000M"
    --
    [NVIDIA_Devices.NTamd64.10.0...14310]
    ...
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F8.06DA.1028% = Section250, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F8&SUBSYS_06DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F8.16DA.1028% = Section254, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F8&SUBSYS_16DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.06DA.1028% = Section250, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_06DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.15CD.1028% = Section250, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_15CD1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.16DA.1028% = Section254, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_16DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13FA.06DA.1028% = Section250, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13FA&SUBSYS_06DA1028
    --
    [NVIDIA_Devices.NTamd64.10.0]
    ...
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.06DA.1028% = Section249, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_06DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.16DA.1028% = Section253, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_16DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13FA.06DA.1028% = Section249, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13FA&SUBSYS_06DA1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13F9.15CD.1028% = Section249, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13F9&SUBSYS_15CD1028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.13FA.16DA.1028% = Section253, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13FA&SUBSYS_16DA1028

    I have taken a look to both "sections" but i can´t find there any adresses to Change. These 3 changes have been all.
    Do you have any idea what´s missing? Or do i have to use "&Rev.1" like in the HW-id?
     
  8. DynamiteZerg

    DynamiteZerg Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Looks good to me. HWinfo and GPU-Z can't tell if a graphics card is from HP/Dell/Clevo. It simply tagged urs as a Dell because it detects a Dell system that's all.
     
  9. Tom1966

    Tom1966 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I´ve made a Rom dump now- but i can´t find out if it´s really a dell or another vendor. Then i have loaded a "dell m4000m Rom". Nvflash64 has Problems like this (with protection off):
    Checking for matches between display adapter(s) and image(s)...
    Adapter: Quadro M4000M (10DE,13F9,1028,15CD) H:--:NRM S:00,B:01,D:00,F:00
    WARNING: Firmware image PCI Subsystem ID (1028.06DA)
    does not match adapter PCI Subsystem ID (1028.15CD).
    NOTE: Exception caught.
    Nothing changed!

    ERROR: PCI subsystem ID mismatch


    So far for now. But what should i do. A "forced" Flash without destroying the Card? 06DA seems to be the address, which official Drivers wants to read... but is it possible to Flash it?
    Does my dell find the Card afterwards anymore?
    Anyone who has done that before?
     
  10. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,694
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Trophy Points:
    231
    You will have to force a flash because the PCI ID won't match up. (That is what the error message is complaining about.) There is a parameter for nvflash that will tell it to flash even if the PCI subsystem ID doesn't match.

    I recommend doing this with Optimus ON. If there are issues during the flash, this will allow you to use the Intel GPU so that you can actually see what you're doing when you try to re-flash. (I've had it fail before and then work after a reboot...)
     
    DynamiteZerg likes this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page