m17x RAM upgrade?

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by Exorch, Jul 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Exorch

    Exorch Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am reading this page on the Kingston website about the memory configuration of Alienware m17x laptop which I am about to buy:

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...re-M17x+Notebook&distributor=0&submit1=Search

    When ordering the Alienware laptop from their website, it has a default of 4 GB of dual channel DDR3 RAM at 1033 Mhz. There are options to upgrade to 6 GB and 8 GB of dual channel DDR3 RAM at 1033 Mhz, but I read I should order (and install myself) the additional RAM directly from Kingston since Alienware charges a large amount for these upgrades compared to the price of ordering the RAM from Kingston.

    My question is about the part on the Kingston website that says, "MODULES MUST BE ORDERED AND INSTALLED IN PAIRS for Dual Channel mode." I'm not really sure what that means I should do. If I order the laptop with the default of 4 GB of memory, and then order two units (i.e., a Qty of 2 in the shopping link for $45.00 each for a total of $90.00) of the KVR1066D3S7/2G memory module from Kingston that is linked to off Kingston's web page about the Alienware m17x laptop, and then install both 2 GB sticks in my laptop, is that the correct way to upgrade my laptop to 8 GB of memory? Or is there something else I need to do to make sure the dual channel works, like ordering a special kit?

    I apologize if I have not used the right terminology. I have not done this before and just want to make sure I am ordering the right thing and was hoping someone here would be able to help since the people here seem to know a lot. Thanks for any help you can provide.
     
  2. Joebarchuck

    Joebarchuck Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    881
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55



    The RAM used in the Alienware is made by Samsung. Upgrading yourself will be cheaper but you need to make sure you get the same performance RAM than the Samsung offers.
     
  3. sleey0

    sleey0 R.I.P. AW Side Topics

    Reputations:
    1,870
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Basically kingston is saying that it is best to use the same sticks in pairs for the dual channel setup to run correctly.

    In theory this is the best choice, but you can match different vendor's sticks as long as they are the same specs (which is what really matters most).
     
  4. Exorch

    Exorch Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Does anyone know if putting in two KVR1066D3S7/2G memory modules would work in the laptop?

    It says on the page I linked to that they are

    2GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SO DIMM

    So they have the same speed (1066Mhz) as and are DDR3 like the memory that comes with the laptop. I don't know about the Non-ECC and CL7 stuff though. And I know that SO DIMM is just what laptops use for memory. Is that enough to mean it will work with the laptop? Does it matter if the laptop ships with two sticks of 2 GB Samsung memory and I put in two sticks of 2 GB Kingston memory?
     
  5. The_Moo™

    The_Moo™ Here we go again.....

    Reputations:
    3,973
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    no it would not matter but why would you buy it with 4 gigs then buy 4 gigs and end up with 4 gigs :confused:

    you do know there is only 2 slots ....?

    Any DDR3 ram WILL WORK!!!!!
     
  6. Exorch

    Exorch Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well the laptop comes with 4 GB of memory installed right? And it has two slots for adding more memory right? So I would order two sticks of RAM (aka memory modules), each with 2 GB of memory, and put them in the two slots. So wouldn't I end up with 8 GB of memory? I've seen your other posts around the forum The_Moo and you seem to know a lot so please help me out especially if I'm mistaken here! I think they just add up simply to give me 8 GB of total RAM?
     
  7. The_Moo™

    The_Moo™ Here we go again.....

    Reputations:
    3,973
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    you are VERY mistaken

    there is only 2 slots

    when you buy it you already have 2x 2 gig sticks in



    so if you want 8 gigs you need to buy 2 4 gig sticks
     
  8. Exorch

    Exorch Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So there are only two slots in the laptop, and they are both already USED when the laptop ships? So to get 8 GB of RAM I have to take their sticks OUT and put my sticks IN since there isn't any extra room?
     
  9. The_Moo™

    The_Moo™ Here we go again.....

    Reputations:
    3,973
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    yes

    you need to buy 2 4 gig ddr3 sticks from newegg take out the ones it comes with then install the 2 4 gig sticks
     
  10. i8urbabi

    i8urbabi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    to get 8gb of ram you need like around $350 per 4 gig stick from the building site atleast. id honestly wait a bit for prices to come down for that. but yes stick with either 2 2gb sticks or a 2gb and a 4gb. but 4gb is plenty really, in most cases id say. but im not a pro. Go read the building site and look again. but goto newegg like posted above.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page