M17X R3 which BIOS?

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by rsgametech, Feb 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rsgametech

    rsgametech Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    16
    A12, A10 or A8?

    I want sata III speeds with highest stability.
    For the A12 unlocked where is the speed setting or is it on by default.
    Do I have to use bay 0 or 1?


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.3 Shizuku Edition x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 266.542 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 255.004 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 246.969 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 241.052 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 28.418 MB/s [ 6938.0 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 50.001 MB/s [ 12207.2 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 215.166 MB/s [ 52530.8 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 202.779 MB/s [ 49506.7 IOPS]

    Test : 1000 MB [C: 36.4% (84.8/232.8 GB)] (x5)
    Date : 2015/02/15 16:13:53
    OS : Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2015
  2. bigtonyman

    bigtonyman Desktop Powa!!!

    Reputations:
    2,371
    Messages:
    5,023
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Its default as far as I know and I wanna say you should use bay 0. Bay 1 is the one with the SATA III issues. What brand and model SSD are you using?
     
  3. rsgametech

    rsgametech Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Samsung 840 EVO I had it in an m6600 and it had full speed now it has SATA II speeds. I have it in bay 0.
     
  4. bigtonyman

    bigtonyman Desktop Powa!!!

    Reputations:
    2,371
    Messages:
    5,023
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Are you sure you have the unlocked one then? Should be enabled by default
     
  5. rsgametech

    rsgametech Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have tried unlocked and locked, seems to be the same :eek:.
     
  6. bigtonyman

    bigtonyman Desktop Powa!!!

    Reputations:
    2,371
    Messages:
    5,023
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    251
    hmm strange. I'll pull out my laptop later and see what speeds I get on my crucial m4.
     
  7. wsnors

    wsnors Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have an Alienware M17xR3 running the Dell A12 bios with a Kingston HyperX 240gb 3K SSD. Intel Rapid Storage tells me the transfer rate is 6 Gb/s it is in bay 0..
     
  8. Alienware-L_Porras

    Alienware-L_Porras Company Representative

    Reputations:
    3,658
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    969
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Bay 0 is the one that reaches SATA III speeds. Some official BIOS's have locked this feature due to stability issues though.
     
    wsnors likes this.
  9. rsgametech

    rsgametech Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got it working, ao8 to a12 unlocked in bay 1.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page