M17x R3/R4 - 3D Discussion, Questions and Tips Thread

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by pcgeek, Mar 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pcgeek

pcgeek Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    I love the 3D effect. I have been using 3D Vision for over 2 years now. I jumped on the bandwagon when it first came out. I have it on 2 TVs and on my desktop (AW2310 Monitor). The glasses are not interchangeable. nVidia glasses are required for the nVidia emitter assembly. When I connect it to my Mitsubishi TV, I use the same emitter and glasses. When I use the Samsung TV it uses its own emitter and I have to use the Samsung glasses. There are 3rd party glasses that claim to handle signals from various types and manufacturers, but I have not tried them yet. There are inherent problems with the different types but I would refer you elsewhere to learn about it.

I have 4 pair of the nVidia glasses which are rechargeable via USB and I easily get 30+ hours on a full charge. I have 2 pair of the Samsung rechargeable glasses and I get about the same. I now have all 6 of those on my old external powered USB hubs so I don't have a problem with charge. I also have 4 pair of Samsung glasses that use batteries which drain them like water.

I wear glasses and find the 3D glasses fit comfortably over them. For some reason I do not wear corrective lenses when playing games in front of my computer monitor (3D or not), but I do when watching movies. I am near sighted. I am 6'6" and 310lbs so I have a big head too .