M14 - Wireless Card Upgrade Option ...Worth It?

Discussion in 'Alienware 14 and M14x' started by Voodooi, Apr 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lunatics

    Lunatics Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I wanted to ask this same thing. I know in most laptops you can open them up and replace the wireless cards so is it the same in the m14x? I'd prefer to buy it with the cheap stock one and upgrade later if I needed/have more money or would the part be like >50 dollars and just not worth it to upgrade after as opposed to the ram for instance.
     
  2. Serephucus

    Serephucus Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    205
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    56
    If the M14x has the same philosophy as the M17x, then yes, you can. You can swap out the cards, and all the necessary antennae will be taped down to the chassis already; all you'll have to do is connect them to the new card.
     
  3. c1ro

    c1ro Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    This is my UK spec 6205 fitted in factory. If you want to get Wimax you may need a third antenna. Not sure on this as Wimax is not available in EU anyway.

    About the other slot next to it, no idea if I can put a Runcore SSD from my mini9 in there. Any suggestion?
    [​IMG]
     
  4. carnid

    carnid Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Cool, so the stock version will have both antennas if you were to fit a 6205 card later then? I understand a separate antenna would be required for WiMax.
     
  5. PhillyWonka

    PhillyWonka Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I dont see a need for the upgrade. Passed on it with mine
     
  6. Serephucus

    Serephucus Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    205
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Oh wow! I didn't realise there was a full height PCIe slot available! Hmmm.... now that's tempting... Throw one of these in there, and I could still keep the 750GB HDD, and the optical drive...
     
  7. Paddon

    Paddon Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    hmm PCIe slot.. does that mean we can put a tv tuner inside ?
     
  8. justinmpierson

    justinmpierson Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I though the exact same thing... tried the runcore from my old mini9, fit like it was made for it, but the system didn't detect anything. I think I read elsewhere in this forum (the search doesn't seem to be working right) that something is missing to make this work... anyone know if Dell is planning on adding this? (would be nice to have an extra 32gb ssd with out scrapping the dvd)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page