1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

m11xr2 hdmi output not working

Discussion in 'Alienware M11x' started by varinsgolf, Mar 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. varinsgolf

    varinsgolf Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I connected my 42 inch hdtv to the m11xr2 with hdmi and when i switch to the TV screen view (FN + F1), it doesn't work.

    it doesn't show up at all. I just re-installed the latest driver for the 335m and still doesn't work.

    Am i missing something trivial here?
     
  2. namaiki

    namaiki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,867
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,919
    Try Windows Key + P and try set Duplicate or Extend. Also, make sure that you're already on the HDMI channel on your TV.

    By the way, HDMI output is handled by the Intel GPU on the M11xR2.
     
  3. MasivB

    MasivB Guest

    Reputations:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Really? I didn't know that...
     
  4. namaiki

    namaiki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,867
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,919
    For the M11x R2 which uses Optimus, the Intel GPU does output (it is turned on all the time) and the nVidia GPU which isn't connected to any screen is turned on to do processing when required or when asked and outputs through the Intel GPU.
     
  5. MasivB

    MasivB Guest

    Reputations:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Does that result in worse or better HD output (compared to R1)? I would assume it helps battery life playback.. but can Intel handle HD fine? After all it is called Intel HD Graphics or is that the NVIDIA processing part of it?
     
  6. namaiki

    namaiki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,867
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,919
    For video playback that is not hardware accelerated, like DXVA, it should be identical.
    Hardware acceleration is there, but it seems to be a bit dodgy depending on what program.

    The nVidia side should not be needed for video playback, if that's what you mean by HD.
     
  7. varinsgolf

    varinsgolf Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    sorry for the late reply, but it still doesn't work.

    I've tried connecting the hdmi to my LCD monitor and the same thing happens. I get a blank screen like there's no signal. I've updated both the drivers for the 335m and the Intel GPU.

    i'm gonna try updating both of them one more time.

    this is frustrating, since this is my only media player to the TV. it was working fine late last year, don't know what happened.
     
  8. MasivB

    MasivB Guest

    Reputations:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Make sure you are removing them correctly otherwise its pointless
     
  9. varinsgolf

    varinsgolf Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    this is what i did and it still does not work.

    1) I uninstalled the drivers through control panel -> Device Manager

    2) reboot into safe mode

    3) opened up driver cleaner pro

    4) remove Intel Extreme Driver

    5) install drivers i got from Dell's website, Intel Graphics HD, the one that they recommend. and then reboot

    so after that i plugged in the HDMI cable to my LCD monitor and momentarily i see a not full scale output on the LCD monitor (yay). but then after that I switch to HDMI only, then all i got is blank (nooooo). and then switching to any mode, I will not see an output on the LCD monitor.

    so.. what am i doing wrong??! or are there other drivers i should try?? I don't think i need to do remove and reinstall the nvidia driver too, am i right?
     
  10. varinsgolf

    varinsgolf Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    btw, i fixed it. just for FYI.

    For some reason i saw there were ATI display drivers installed on my laptop (no clue where it came from). I removed those through Driver cleaner pro, then re-installed Nvidia and Intel graphics driver. then everything went back to normal.

    Problem solved, thanks for the info, guys.
     
Similar Threads: m11xr2 hdmi
Forum Title Date
Alienware M11x M11xr2 HDMI output problems? Feb 25, 2011
Alienware M11x M11xR2 Want optimus take over when HDMI Aug 29, 2010
Alienware M11x M11xR2 not detecting Nvidia when using HDMI output Jun 27, 2010
Alienware M11x Alienware 13 vs M11xR2 Comparison Review Dec 12, 2014
Alienware M11x Mac os mavericks 10.9.3 m11xr2 Jun 17, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page