1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

M11XR2 BIOS A04 available... Discuss here

Discussion in 'Alienware M11x' started by BatBoy, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    The Bay
  2. milotic68

    milotic68 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Inside Gmod.
    Ooooo shiny. Anyway do you have any info on what is new?
     
  3. WAZZ UP

    WAZZ UP Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    UK - Notts
    According to the description:
    Modify GPIO setting to correct DRAM reset
     
  4. milotic68

    milotic68 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Inside Gmod.
    I post than think
     
  5. BranMuffin

    BranMuffin Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  6. milotic68

    milotic68 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Inside Gmod.
    You have to go into the driver folder than run the .exe
     
  7. BranMuffin

    BranMuffin Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I figured that was it. HAHAHA i edited my first post to help other people.
     
  8. slickie88

    slickie88 Master of Puppets

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Man, I miss erawneila. He used to be such a great source of info about this sort of thing. I'm not sure what Modify GPIO setting to correct DRAM reset really means.
     
  9. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Location:
    The Bay
    GPIO = General Purpose Input/Output

    There may have been an issue with the DRAM timing... Not sure either. Has anyone run some memory benches and compared to A03 BIOS?

    Hey, as long as it works and nothing was broken. ;)
     
  10. mohaa7

    mohaa7 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I guess I won't be needing to install this one as there is no difference in the fan table..
    When I upgrade to A03, I just hear fan spinning all the time.
    I'll just stay with A02, so sad.
     
  11. tidusx100

    tidusx100 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Did you wait for your computer to restart? Its just part of the process....
     
  12. dragon23

    dragon23 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I'm with you on this one. Did someone diss him or something?
     
  13. NismoCOB

    NismoCOB Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Zurich
    You hijacked my thread D:
     
  14. THX5334

    THX5334 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I love this bios. After installing it, my fsb has stayed a stable 166 oc!
     
  15. balamacab

    balamacab Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ok, donde the update but have no idea what it do to the system
     
  16. Scotty H

    Scotty H Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    how do you check your bios version? i think im on default A02. But im scared to change it cause i can run 167mhz with no problems :(
     
  17. GadgetBoi

    GadgetBoi Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Paradise
    Either go into BIOS(F2) at boot up or use a program like CPUz to show you in Windows:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Docsteel

    Docsteel Vast Alien Conspiracy

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Indeterminate point in Space
    It can't hurt to try; I just got my R2 with A03 loaded and the fan does run more than my R1 under similar load... but that is to be expected with an i-series processor I would think, ie generally a bit warmer... maybe time for me to look into a small portable notebook cooler for intense gaming bouts on trips from home.
     
  19. jmeyer2039

    jmeyer2039 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It seems like there is only one version of this file, but, after I download and extract everything, I get the following message:

    The program or feature "\??\C:\dell\drivers\R289597\M11XR2~1.EXE" cannot start or run due to incompatibity with 64-bit versions of Windows. Please contact the software vendor to ask if a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available.

    It would seem to imply the update isn't for 64-bit operating systems, but isn't Windows 7 your only option when ordering an M11X? This makes no sense to me. How can I get this working?
     
  20. tecrp7

    tecrp7 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    You have to extract the files manually using winzip or winrar.

    Then inside the newly created folder there will be a .exe that has WIN in it and run that and you should be golden.
     

Share This Page