Lousy Lojack

Discussion in 'Dell' started by chelet, May 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chelet

    chelet Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    170
    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I received my third M1330 today and I am having problems with the Lojack.
    Instead of being on a separate CD, as was true of every previous computer I ordered from Dell, Dell preinstalled -- or partly preinstalled Lojack, and it is causing a glitch. Check the thumbnail. This piece of the installer graphic shows up in the corner and covers anything in that part of the screen. It's "always on top." This d@mn thing shows up shortly after the computer is rebooted.

    I care more about getting rid of this piece, which essentially takes a usable chunk out of the upper left corner of my screen, than about the "protection" Lojack supposedly confers. There is an icon to "activate" Lojack, but when I clicked it it downloaded an installer and said UAC might show up when I ran it. From that I infer that Lojack isn't actually fully installed. However there is a "Lojack Factory Installer" in Add/Remove Programs.

    Which is more likely to get rid of this stupid Lojack glitch? Uninstalling from Add/Remove Programs or installing the rest of Lojack? If I complete the install, will I ever be able to uninstall it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Check your BIOS settings. There should be a section for LOJACK. Be sure to read all the info in full be making a choince in the BIOS setting. I recall something about deactivating it a perm thing.
     
  3. Lucanesti

    Lucanesti Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    14
    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Disableing that could be a huge mistake.
     
  4. wywern209

    wywern209 NBR Dark Knight

    Reputations:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    well if u got a lojjack reinstall cd , delete and reinstall!
     
  5. Fountainhead

    Fountainhead Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    281
    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    That's pretty odd. Since you just got the notebook today, I wonder if you could just do a system restore?
     
  6. chelet

    chelet Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    170
    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I'm going to check the BIOS.
    They didn't include a Lojack CD with the laptop.
     
  7. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Yeah it should be set at Deactivated/Not Active. There is a choice to DISABLE it forever, but I wouldnt suggest it.

    I just leave mine alone @ default settings. I have never had anything pop up in windows but then again my lappie is almost 2 years old. Perhaps they didnt install a software app back then.

    I have always wondered if the lojack would drain on sys resources, why I never bothered to enable it.

    Oh well - good luck.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page