lost CF5870 after BIOS upgrade from A04 to A06

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by Maciejka, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maciejka

    Maciejka Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Guys,

    I have a problem after upgrade my BIOS from A04 to A06. My CF5870 works fine with A04 and I migrated to the latest version for BIOS because I need to have the virtualization support.
    After that I cannot power on my M17-R2 with two cards, with one it working fine.

    I tried removing the battery - no lust so far. so my question is can I put the backup A04 BIOS and downgrade it? then for ex. migrate to A05?

    Do you have similar experience or CF5970 are working fine with A06 BIOS?

    PS.
    I'm using M17-R2 with i7-620M CPU.

    cheers for any help
     
  2. lordqarlyn

    lordqarlyn Global Biz Consultant

    Reputations:
    73
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I've upgraded from 05 to 06, and not experiencing any probs, at least none that I found yet.
     
  3. PeterMegahey1701

    PeterMegahey1701 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Ive got the same problem.
     
  4. mfractal

    mfractal T|I

    Reputations:
    1,946
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    some people on the forum report that problem. some have been able to work only with A02... also, it's going to be hard to find A04 as dell has removed it from the download page...
     
  5. PeterMegahey1701

    PeterMegahey1701 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I don't know weather or not to wait for A07 to come out and just make do with one 5870. Whats the chances of A07 fixing it though.... I'm so close to the ultimate M17xR2 its almost painful.
     
  6. 5150Joker

    5150Joker Tech|Inferno

    Reputations:
    4,974
    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,035
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Hmm it's strange that these setups work under certain bios versions and not others. I really do wonder if Dell tweaked the motherboard design along the way. If a power drain + clearing the cmos battery doesn't work, then I don't think there's anything that can be done for you guys short of Dell replacing the mainboard with a newer version.
     
  7. PeterMegahey1701

    PeterMegahey1701 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I've tried a new motherboard with A05 pre-installed and a new motherboard with A06.

    There must be more to it.... :(
     
  8. Maciejka

    Maciejka Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I have just got the confirmation that Alienware will swap the laptop with the new one. I'm forcing them to get that with at least a05 bios version (to have virtualization support) and avoid the upgrade.

    btw this is long story :( - I was fighting for 6-7 weeks. they swapped the CF5870 twice and 2 motherboards (they sent dead one once) - just perfect next business day support. But anyway the laptop will be replaced.
     
  9. PeterMegahey1701

    PeterMegahey1701 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I'm having the same fight but they've given me a 940 by mistake so swapping it out isn't an option.
     
  10. Maciejka

    Maciejka Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Guys,

    I made a backup during upgrade of working A04 BIOS. Is it safe to downgrade from A06 to A04? Did anyone from you tried it before?

    cheers
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page