Looking For Laptop For Writing And Zoom Calls (17", £1200 Budget.)

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Union Jack, Jul 13, 2021.

1. Union Jack

Union Jack Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hi everyone.

I'm looking for help to buy a new laptop to use for work (I'm a writer.) Any help greatly appreciated, details below.

General Questions

1) What is your budget? Up to £1200.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    United Kingdom.

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like:
    b. Dislike: Not interested in Apple/Mac.

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    No.

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    Professional writing, web browsing, Zoom calls, watching videos/streams, maybe light gaming.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    Mostly desk bound.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? (If so, please state which games or types of games?) Perhaps a little, but I already have a gaming laptop so not essential.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need? No preference.

10) Would you prefer to see the notebooks you're considering before purchasing it or buying a notebook on-line without seeing it is OK?
    I generally buy online.

11) What OS do you prefer? Windows, Mac OS, Linux, Chrome OS, etc.
    Windows.

Screen Specifics

12) What screen resolution(s) would you prefer? (See further below for explanations.)
    1920 x 1080 on a 17 Inch Screen. (My gaming laptop is 1920 x 1080 on a 17.3” screen.)

13) Do you want a glossy/reflective screen or a matte/non-glossy screen? (See further below for explanations.) Definitely Matte/non-glossy.