Looking for a powerful gaming laptop under $2000 (At least GTX 1070 graphics)

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Techdude594, Jan 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Techdude594

Techdude594 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hey guys, this is my first post on these forums. I've heard great things about these forums, and was looking to get some advice from you guys. I'm about to purchase my first gaming laptop, so I figured that you guys were the best place to come for advice!

General Questions

1) What is your budget? >$2000

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

17" screen, but I can live with 15" as well. (I am a college student, but I am no stranger to carrying around 40lbs of weight in my backpack, and I do prefer 17" laptops)

3) Which country will you buying this notebook? United States

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: Dell G-series, MSI, pretty much any brand who uses Tong Fang/Clevo chassis, ASUS, Acer
    b. Dislike: Razer, Alienware, Apple
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? No.

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook? Heavy gaming and general college tasks like note-taking.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both? I will be taking this laptop with me to college, but as I stated above, weight isn't a big deal for me. As long as it isn't 10 pounds and 2 inches thick, I can manage.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? (If so, please state which games or types of games?)
    Yes, I will be playing a wide variety of games. Many AAA titles such as GTA V, Witcher III, Tomb Raider series, etc. I will also be playing indies and will be emulating some games as well.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need? Doesn't matter. I will carry the power brick with me.