Looking for 80% Business Workhorse with good Graphics

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by forcemethod, Apr 2, 2019.

1. forcemethod

forcemethod Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hi all I am after a new laptop for mostly work use. I need it to have some power to run 3D Building model review and queries. I work in construction and am often opening viewing many different large pdf drawings at the same time. I have a Thinkpad X1 with HD620 7300U 8gb ram at the moment, which gets me by but I am noticing it bogging down as drawing files are getting larger and more projects are using 3D Models. I am after something with some grunt to handle these issues without slowing down. I often take this laptop to business meetings as well so after something which does not scream 'gamer', although will consider these if they are reliable/powerful enough.

I am considering X1 Extreme, however heard that it throttles, and wouldnt mind something a bit thicker if it would mean less throttline/better temperatures. I have seen a few MSI laptops around and am wondering if any MSI laptop would be a better alternative to the X1 Extreme?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions and guidance

General Questions

1) What is your budget? ~$2500

2) What size notebook would you prefer? 14"-15"
    3) Which country will you buying this notebook? Australia

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: Lenovo, MSI,
    b. Dislike:
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook? Work, chrome with lots of tabs, office applications, Viewing/exploring 3D models of buildings, lots of document editing, viewing construction drawings with large file sizes

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both? Will be taking from work to home each day, commuting on the train.