1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Lion recovery - how to delete saved wifi config?

Discussion in 'Apple and Mac OS X' started by GadgetsNut, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. GadgetsNut

    GadgetsNut Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    187
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Any Lion gurus here can answer this for me?

    I've been at this for a while now. I even manually deleted all hard drive partitions including the recovery partition using diskutil in terminal, yet each time I boot it into OS installation or recovery, it STILL remembers my wifi network. No big deal, but I'd like to know where it is storing this (and possibly other) information.

    Where else can it store the wifi setting?

    Another odd thing. I downloaded Lion from the app store which I'd purchased when I had my 2010 MBP. I burned it the dmg onto DVD to reload Lion onto my 2010 Mini. It took almost an hour before the actual installation started. The installation itself only took 15 minutes once it started. I have a feeling it downloaded the installation file again from Apple.

    This has been a major PITA between doing the 2010 Mini and trying to get the Lion installation media on the 2011 Mini, which I am unsuccessful so far. I just cloned the hard drive image after it downloaded the dmg from Apple (download THREE times!). Burning that dmg onto a USB stick, I get errors as soon as I tried to start the installation.
     
  2. GadgetsNut

    GadgetsNut Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    187
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I got it. Have to clear PRAM to clear my wifi info out of the system. The only time I entered my wifi config was in the OS itself. It must have saved that info into the PRAM from the OS, so the system can connect itself even after an OS wipe. How sneaky..
     

Share This Page