Lightweight hi-end pc (XPS/Tongfang/etc.)

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Plokko, Jul 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Plokko

Plokko Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi.
    I'm planning to upgrade my current machine, an XPS 15 9530 (i7,4k touchscreen, 256gb msata ssd+1tb hdd) with a new one.
    I'm a freelancer programmer and i work in mobility so i need a lightweight and durable pc to be able to carry it around, i also needs good performance because i have a lot of services running in background.

My specifications are:
    • good construction and durable chassis
    • i7-8750h or higher
    • max 2-2.5kg of weight,less is better
    • must have IT keyboard layout, better if sold in italy
    • nvme, more than one m.2 slot is welcome (so that i can add a main nvme drive and a secondary cheap m.2-sata drive)
    • good display (high rgb coverage)
    • good gpu, gtx 1050 or higher, not a gaming pc but good graphic performance are welcome

The model i found so far:
    • Gigabyte aero 15x (gtx 1070 max-q)
      one of the best notebooks, hight price (>2500€), impossible to find with it layout
    • MSI gs65 (gtx 1070 max-q/1060)
      cost almost like the gigabyte 15x, i found it even in local stores but the "wobbly" case feel really cheap, very hard to mantain but i can manage
    • Dell XPS 9570 (gtx 1050ti)
      good price, great built quality and batter, has "only"a 1050ti, only has one m.2 slot and 1tb ssd version aren't cheap
    • TongFang GK5CN6Z (gtx 1060)
      very affordable and customizable (sold as barebone), great monitor, but only has usb 3.0 and a weak battery.

Not listed: Razer blade (not sold with it keyboard layout)

Actually i'm evaluating the GK5CN6Z as a possibile choise (with 32gb ram and 512gb nvme it will cost roughtly 1500€) versus the xps 15: