Lenovo Yoga Slim 7 Pro for pentesting?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by lang11, Aug 10, 2021.

1. lang11

lang11 Newbie

Reputations:
    I am looking for a new notebook. Stumbled upon the Lenovo Yoga Slim 7 Pro with the Ryzen 5900HX Octa-core. Got 16Gb RAM. Also has a 1TB SSD. Seems to have everything I need for running multiple virtual machines. Only thing missing would be a dedicated GPU but as I won't be doing a lot or any gaming I don't see that as a problem.

Contrary to popular believe the Yoga series is not limited to only 2 in 1 notebooks anymore as this one is a "normal" notebook.

I really like the slim look and the design in general. The Wifi Card is also capable of injection and monitor mode.

I will also use this notebook for uni stuff as I am studying computer science.

https://www.lenovo.com/de/de/laptops/yoga/yoga-slim-series/Yoga-Slim-7-Pro-14ARH5/p/LEN101Y0001

2. Tech Junky

Tech Junky Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Just about any recent "notebook" should suffice for pentesting.

You know about the network adapters and which will allow you "tap" easier or at all.

Keep in mind VM's share the CPU / RAM and running more than say 2 simultaneously on top of windows might be the max w/o going to a hypervisor + VM's to free up resources for more VM's to be running.

3. JRE84

JRE84 Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    injection seems like your a hacker?

4. Tech Junky

Reputations:
    JRE84 and Vasudev like this.
  5. N2ishun

N2ishun Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    White hat/Black hat is the difference.
    Or would it be better to say ethical or unethical ?
    If you're setting up security for some odd network you have to know how to hack it, or at least try to (the hopeful way it turns out if it's really secure).

6. Tech Junky

Reputations:
    Having a security cert already under my belt and real world experience it's more about spackling the drips in the dam.