1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Lenovo W520 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by zacharyp, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. jedisurfer1

    jedisurfer1 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Socal
    did you do the bios update via the lenovo software? I always avoid bios update unless needed and never inside the OS. I can see a windows update hosing an OS but not the entire machine
     
  2. ajkula66

    ajkula66 Retired FlexView Farmer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,754
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Location:
    Flexviewington Upon Thinkpadiford
    @huberth:

    Have you tried powering it on with no battery installed, AC adapter only?

    Are you using the 135W brick?
     
  3. huberth

    huberth Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I was using the 170 W adapter when it happened.
    I tried without the battery. No luck.
    I had not done a BIOS update recently..
    Something inside got hot and melted some of the plastic around one of the screws of the memory latch.
    But it was not the memory that overheated. Something else. Perhaps a fan failure. I guess it's a write-off.
    I have already started selling the RAM and SSDs on eBay ...
     
  4. ajkula66

    ajkula66 Retired FlexView Farmer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,754
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Location:
    Flexviewington Upon Thinkpadiford

    Wow...

    Have you considered swapping the motherboard instead of burying the machine? Granted, you should get some $$$ from parts especially if you have a FHD screen, but still...

    Good luck.
     
  5. huberth

    huberth Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Any idea how much a new (RAID enabled) motherboard including labor would cost approximately?
     
  6. ajkula66

    ajkula66 Retired FlexView Farmer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,754
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Location:
    Flexviewington Upon Thinkpadiford
  7. randy3y

    randy3y Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Dallas. TX
    I have a w520 sound card problem. The sound will after a while start buzzing, stalling buzzing. Kind of Max Headroom like. It seems like a conflict or some sort. A reboot will fix the problem for a few days.

    I have 2 sound drives - the standard Conexant Drive - up to date.

    I also have an NVIDIA high definition audio - is this normal?

    I have deleted reinstalled etc.
     
  8. livebriand

    livebriand Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Nvidia HD audio is likely HDMI/Displayport output on the nvidia GPU. Perfectly normal. Same with Intel and AMD audio devices, for the same reason.

    Not sure about the buzzing though.
     
  9. aztec506

    aztec506 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Tucson
    Has anyone found an AC wireless card that will work properly in the w520? Just replaced my old router with a new AC model and would love to take advantage of the higher speeds with my w520.

    Also thinking about replacing my w520 with a w540 or a HP Zbook or maybe even a miniature desktop model to use with my NEC 2090uxi monitor. Hate to give up the excellent keyboard for the offset crap but the lure of an IPS display has me kind of chomping on the bits. Decisions, decisions.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  10. djembe

    djembe drum while you work

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    under the keyboard
    You'd either need a Lenovo-approved (whitelisted) wireless card, or you'd need to edit the BIOS to allow something else.
     
  11. crabber50

    crabber50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Moving W520 and Dock to an environment that has 3 X VGA only 1280 x 1024 monitors. Want to run all 3 in extended mode. Do not need to use the W520 screen when docked. To connect I plan the following.

    #1 VGA port (Dock)
    #2 Display port to VGA cable (Dock)
    #3 Display link USB to VGA

    Before purchasing #2 and #3 wanted to get input on whether #2 works with Dock and W520. Previously ran 3 DVI monitors without issue.

    Other notes, Windows 8.1, will be running Yacht 3D navigation software (Nobletec Trident) as well as weather and yacht systems monitoring software.

    Thanks in advance
     

Share This Page