Lenovo Legion Y740 17" 15"

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by victorgm, Jan 30, 2019.

  1. Jacol

    Jacol Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I use my notebook 100% on AC so I don’t need battery weight and constantly murdering it with charging/discharging 5-10% while always on AC.
    I drive all my laptops without batteries since Dell XPS Studio 17 times when I killed battery just having it in and using AC on all the time.

    As for power loss I don’t really care since I have constant backup to the cloud running in the background of all necessary folders, files and program settings needed for sudden pc switch or disk restoration from image and I didn’t have any corrupted data from power losses for last 6 years.

    128 Speedshift is a sweet spot for daily running for me to keep it both quiet and cool without sacrificing that much of possible performance in usual boring daily tasks.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020 at 7:03 AM
  2. alexandrud

    alexandrud Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You are very lucky. In my case (I7-9750H), anything below -0.139mV cache and -0.149mV core generates errors in TS Bench. Your undervolting is error free in ThrottleStop Bench ?
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020 at 9:11 PM
  3. richang91

    richang91 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Last edited: May 22, 2020 at 10:23 AM
    ericxps likes this.
  4. Phillyblunz

    Phillyblunz Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    16

    How do you find errors??

    The TS Bench window just has a few windows, none I can see show errors.

    Please to direct me.
     
  5. alexandrud

    alexandrud Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For example, I tried these values and run multiple tests. During the test with 16 threads and size 64M it gave me 3 errors. I increased the cache undervolting from -0.150mV to -0.140mV and I had no errors anymore when running the same test. Another interesting thing is that when on battery I can undervolt more than when I am on AC. Here in my screenshot the core is -0.200mV when on battery. When I am connected to AC the undervolt below -0.149mV generates errors during these computational tests.

    upload_2020-5-23_12-39-2.png
     
  6. Itzap

    Itzap Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    normally you can go to -1000mv on core, your cpu / BIOS will ignore the offset if you go to deep.
    You can freeze your system or get an instability just when you UV your cache or system agent to far.
     
  7. Danny Utoyo

    Danny Utoyo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not completely true

    Mine get freeze or BSOD when try to push UV on core more than 150mv
     
  8. Itzap

    Itzap Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are you sure you didn‘t set to „static vcore offset“?
    I have never got a pc / laptop crashed in the last years when i uv the vcore to deep using the adaptive offset.
    If you use adaptive offset then this is totally new for me.

    At my Y740 (8750h) the deepest vcore offset is -299 mv. After that my Cpu does not go lower. Even if i apply -1000mv vcore.
     
  9. Danny Utoyo

    Danny Utoyo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes I'm sure. I use adaptive, not static.
     
  10. vegetaeater

    vegetaeater Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    66
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Does anyone know which displays are compatible with the 17" model?

    I have the AUO329D (B173HAN03.2). I was thinking of replacing it with the LG panel (LP173WFG-SPD2), but now I'm considering that 4K 120hz panel (B173ZAN03.3,) that the Razer Blade Pro gets.

    Or maybe there is a suitable 240hz or 300hz model?

    Interested to know if anyone else has looked into this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page