LCD screen not working - Dell XPS M1730 - Help Please!!!

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by Robson_De_Souza, Dec 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robson_De_Souza

    Robson_De_Souza Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    I recently re - installed windows onto my Dell XPS M1730 laptop, also installing the drivers and utilities CD and the Media Direct 3.5 software. The latter I installed correctly after reading up about it, so I know that is not the problem, I have installed that correctly.

    The problem is that the LCD screen on the laptop, for people who don't know what I am talking about, it is the little black screen above the keyboard which is displaying the CPU and RAM details, on the right in the following picture:

    http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/mobile/2008/dell-xps-m1730-x9000/dell-m1730-keyboard.jpg

    That screen usually shows details like the time, game stats etc but know it just has XPS in white writing permanently. There was a dell direct option in my program list which I could click on and change the sequence of what was shown on the screen but I cant seem to find that now either.

    Can anybody help me sort this little problem out, I would really appreciate it:) .

    Kind regards,

    Mark
     
  2. Salty85

    Salty85 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Which OS does this have on it, vista or XP? 32 Bit or 64 Bit?
     
  3. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Reputations:
    3,886
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    456
  4. Robson_De_Souza

    Robson_De_Souza Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  5. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Reputations:
    3,886
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    456
    No problemo, glad it solved it.
    I rarely use th LCD screen so I disabled it, since it`s just using CPU cycles.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page