Latitude Ultrabook questions

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Wolffstarr, Apr 21, 2017 at 1:31 PM.

1. Wolffstarr

Wolffstarr Newbie

Reputations:
    Greetings! I will be pasting the form below, but I wanted to start out with my basic question and situation. I'm a network engineer who does systems work on the side, and run a few VMs that I'd rather be running on the local machine instead of a host in my lab. This machine is going to be replacing my home desktop; gaming is not a consideration (I have other machines for that).

My reasoning is, one of my work laptops is a Latitude E6540. I like the Latitudes in general, and I have a (personally owned) E-Port Plus II dock (PR02X is the model). My desktop has a pair of 23" 1080p monitors that I can hook up to the dock, and be able to switch between personal machine and work machine when I work from home. I have multiple work laptops so running them side-by-side isn't going to work so hot.

Currently, I'm looking at the E7250 and E7270. I recently picked up an old E4200 and love the form-factor FAR more than I ever expected I would, so I'm sold on the 12.5" lifestyle. Is there anything other than CPU type to choose between the two? I'm mostly looking at upgrade options, gotchas for construction, different interfaces for hardware, etc. Goal is to decide whether the extra cost for the E7270 is worth it. I will be buying used, either eBay or Dell Outlet most likely.

Oh. WWAN capability is a nice-to-have, but not necessary by any means.

==========

General Questions

1) What is your budget?

Maximum of $800, less is better.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

b. Ultraportable; 11" - 12" screen

3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.

United States - Dell Outlet or eBay. Maine if the state matters.

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?

a. Like: Dell - needed for compatibility with existing dock