1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Latitude E6500, AHCI and WinXP - Help!

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by millermagic, Feb 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Reputations:
    330
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    Working on a Latitude E6500 with Windows XP. It came from Dell with Windows XP and AHCI (SATA Mode) enabled in the BIOS.

    The Hard Drive from Dell started to fail and the hard drive was "cloned" and an image was made. The image was restored to a brand new hard drive, and then put back in the machine.

    Upon booting, the laptop bluescreened. Doing a repair install of winXP wasn't possbile, because, that too, would bluescreen.

    I ended up enabling ATA mode (disabling AHCI) and the computer would boot.

    We would REALLY like to run this thing in AHCI to avoid the performance hit.

    What I have tried
    Downloaded ALL Intel Storage drivers from Dell.com and Intel for this ICH9M chipset. Get the error "Computer is not up to minimum requirements to run package" or something of the like.

    Downloaded the pre-os-install storage driver from Dell's website for this latpop. The package does NOT list E6500 but Dell's list of drivers for the 6500 has this. When I use this driver to import right into Windows, the laptop bluescreens. Additionally, when I try this in the repair install, it does not work.

    Are there any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance,
    Miller
     
  2. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10,519
    Have you tried the registry fix for changing ATA mode to AHCI?
     
  3. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Reputations:
    330
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    I have not. Can you provide details on this? I'm not sure I have to do this since the hard drive image is an exact copy of what Dell shipped ... with AHCI enabled.
     
  4. GKDesigns

    GKDesigns Custom User Title

    Reputations:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,080
    You cloned the failing drive to a new drive and then the new drive would not boot. I would assume the clone is not good, salvage your data from whichever drive, and reimage/clean install the new drive.

    GK
     
  5. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Reputations:
    330
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    The new drive and the image work fine if I change the bios to ATA.
     
  6. GKDesigns

    GKDesigns Custom User Title

    Reputations:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,080
    Good time to salvage your data. The clone should have booted... it blue screened. And now you are hobbled in ATA mode. You can mess with it but you are messing with a troubled clone of a failing drive. Me, I'd have reinstalled XP by now on the new drive... or Win7.

    GK
     
  7. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,602
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,190
    1. Cloning using a recent cloning software should work. I do it regularly.

    2. Here is the thread about enabling AHCI.

    John
     
  8. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Reputations:
    330
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    The hard drive works fine, it just is noisey. It wasn't a complete failure.

    I'll give that guide a shot.
     
  9. GKDesigns

    GKDesigns Custom User Title

    Reputations:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,080
    Clone it again, then, perhaps with a different tool?

    GK
     
Similar Threads: Latitude E6500
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6500 battery Oct 10, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6500 Questions Jan 24, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6500 Wifi Connections issues Dec 14, 2013
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6500 8GB is it possible? Sep 16, 2013
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6500 maximum resolution via DisplayPort Jan 31, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page