Latitude D420 - Max memory?

Discussion in 'Dell' started by thejinx0r, Jun 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thejinx0r

    thejinx0r Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi,

    I have Dell D420.
    I was going to upgrade the memory with a 2gb stick.

    I was wondering if I was going to actually get 2gb of memory and the dedicated 512mb would go to the video, or if I would get 2gb minus what the video card needs?

    Thank you
     
  2. swarmer

    swarmer beep beep

    Reputations:
    2,071
    Messages:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    What do you mean by "the dedicated 512mb"?

    You'll get 2 gb minus what the video card needs... BUT the video card doesn't need much. For normal desktop use, the video card needs about 8 mb (or maybe less). For a flashy desktop like Vista Aero, it may use more like 64 mb.

    Yeah, it CAN use up to 300 mb if it needs to, but for normal desktop application use it doesn't need to. And I don't think you'll be doing that much 3D gaming on a D420 anyway.

    1280 * 800 * 4 = 4,096,000 = about 4 mb. So that's about how many bytes of RAM are needed to display a 1280 x 800 desktop in 32-bit color (4 bytes per pixel).

    If you set it to 16-bit color, it'll only use 2 mb, and you'll never notice the difference on an LCD screen. ;)
     
  3. thejinx0r

    thejinx0r Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    On the D420, it has a dedicated 512mb memory stick and one expansion slot.
    But I've read that the only way to get 2gb of memory was to actually use a 2gb stick, but the computer would only see 2gb, and not 2,5gb.

    I just wanted to know what would happen to the rest of 512mb of memory.
     
  4. swarmer

    swarmer beep beep

    Reputations:
    2,071
    Messages:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Oh I see... yeah I don't know. Apparently the integrated ram goes unused. Whether the video chip could use it or not, I'm not sure, but the amount of RAM used by the video chip is negligible anyway.
     
  5. SoundsGood

    SoundsGood Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    188
    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I could be wrong, but I thought I saw somewhere that the max RAM a D420 could have is 1.5 GB.
     
  6. Msyvc

    Msyvc Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I've found specs that say either 1.5 or 2048MB, or both, such as THIS at Dell.
     
  7. SoundsGood

    SoundsGood Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    188
    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Hmm, looks like you're right!
     
  8. Msyvc

    Msyvc Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It's clearly confusing! :confused: :p
     
Similar Threads: Latitude D420
Forum Title Date
Dell Dell Latitude D420 Jul 2, 2015
Dell Latitude D420 battery life May 28, 2008
Dell Latitude D420 Wireless Adapter Q? Feb 28, 2008
Dell Problem with Dell 5505 on Latitude D420 Jan 13, 2008
Dell Pondering buying a used Latitude D420... Dec 28, 2007

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page