Laptop suggestions for Gaming and Photo editing!

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Ckhurana, Sep 17, 2020.

1. Ckhurana

Ckhurana Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Hello folks,

Here is the quick TL;DR version of my requirement -

Need suggestions for purchasing a respectably configured (budget friendly) laptop in India which supports medium (to high?) setting gaming (at least for existing titles like Fortnite), and photo editing (I am an enthusiast photographer), and preferably situated under INR 1,00,000 OR $1400 USD.

Now the Long version -

I am a returning gamer, an erstwhile Alienware user who has owned both the Alienware 15 R1 (which was replaced 3 years back with...) and the 15 R3, before I gave up gaming and sold off the R3.

Both the R1, and R3 were purchased and couriered by my friends from the US to India over the past years (thank you guys). Although the R3 was a very good configuration (a Dell exchange for a faulty R2), a prime reason for my final parting with DELL was the thermals... that R3 could cook eggs while on GTA 5!

Now, here are my present needs
    1. Gaming - Can play new titles (Fortnite?) at medium settings;
    2. Edit photos and videos - Lightroom, Photoshop. Specifically I need to edit DSLR's RAW photos and videos as well.
    My maximum budget is INR 1,00,000 OR $1400 USD.

And the preferable specs are as under -
    1. Processor - AMD Ryzen 7 4800HS
    2. GPU - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 Max-Q
    3. RAM - Min 16 GB (Dual channel preferred)
    4. Storage - EITHER a combo of 256GB SSD + extra 1TB HDD OR single 512GB SSD (with added HDD bay preferred).
    5. OS - Windows 10 Pro OR w/o Windows (with DOS?) is preferred
    The build should be reliable, and considering all things I have been through with Alienware, it should not heat much!

Also, suggestions for Ryzen welcome more than Intel;

Any questions, please ask!

Thank you!
    Chetan

Last edited: Sep 18, 2020
  2. Charles P. Jefferies