Laptop Screen Upgrades

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by sicily428, Apr 27, 2018.

  1. ralffykinno

    ralffykinno Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the ASUS ROG STRIX G531GD with 144Hz via 40 pin eDP cable. Do you think its gonna work with B156HAN10.0?
     
  2. xklis

    xklis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi guys !

    @Hopper82 has a Dell Precision 7740 with AU Optronics B173HAN01.3 [AUO139D] as display.
    (http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...ecs-release-date.827802/page-27#post-10946454)
    As you can see from the above link, hwinfo shows it's 8-bit display (he stated that even "advanced display settings" reports 8-bit)

    The strange thing is that this same exact panel was also on this Dell Precision 7730 (http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-163#post-10835786).
    Here hwinfo clearly shows that it's a 6-bit display.

    The only differences are "Dell P/N" and "Date of manufacture":

    Dell 7730:
    [DELL P/N 257DG]
    Date of manufacture: Week:10, Year:2018

    Dell 7740:
    [DELL P/N 6HK8X]
    Date of manufacture: Week:5, Year:2019

    Different Dell part number is due to different model (7730 vs 7740) even though it's the same display.

    Question is: Can a manufacturer improve panel specs (color depth in this case) but still keep its original id name ?

    Panelook has always reported for this screen '6-bit'
    http://www.panelook.com/B173HAN01.3_AUO_17.3_LCM_parameter_33384.html

    Do you know if is there any reliable software to check real display specs ?

    @t456 Any tips ?
     
  3. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,853
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,918
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Sure, the decision is the manufacturer's.

    It might simply have to do with the panel being an early revision or an entry error in the edid. It'd be a bit unlikely if Dell specifically ordered a batch that reported lower bit-rates than the panel could handle, but who knows ... the ways of marketing shenanigans are perilous indeed.
    Not as such. All software solutions will poll their information from the edid, but you could make this claim '16-bit per pixel' if you'd want to.

    The best bet is simply checking the reviews and their measurements; most 6-bit panels top out at around 60-65% sRGB and 8-bits can do ~90-95%. It is not a foolproof method though since the bit-ness of the panel merely indicates the number of discriminate steps within the specific led's brightness range. If the low-bit panel could cover a theoretical 0-100% spectrum of blue and the high-bit only 10-90% (due to limitations in the panel's blue leds) then chances are you'd pick the low-bit as being the better screen. Measurements would also lean in this direction.

    Of course, if the 2018 version really is 8-bit then the result would still be quite poor if it reported itself as 6-bit and a 6-bit signal was then sent to the screen (the difference is 64 vs. 256 intensity levels per colour, so that should be quite noticeable if the screen is otherwise identical).
     
  4. xklis

    xklis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi and thanks for your reply !

    So do you consider 'advanced display settings' in win10 a more reliable source than any software like hwinfo ? Or it's just same method used ?

    Could you please explain me what 'edid' is ?
    Is this an online database from which softwares read info ?

    I don't think so, because panelook has always reported that panel as 6-bit.

    Moreover, those who have purchased Dell Precision 7530/7730 with FHD displays that have posted on this forum, they have all shown a common thing: 6-bit as color depth.
    Only UHD guarantee 8-bit (but may encouter scaling problem due to high dpi with some software).

    @Ionising_Radiation reported the following:
    His previous panel was this: LGD0540
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-165#post-10836560

    The 'banding' issue has been quite a problem and actually a big disappointment considering what type of notebooks we are talking about.

    For instance:

    Here 'banding' is clearly visible with igpu enabled (while it's way better looking when disabled):
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...30-owners-thread.820539/page-73#post-10785925

    And that is a 17,3" UHD panel (so even on advertised 8-bit !)-->http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...30-owners-thread.820539/page-72#post-10785835

    Even this guy (http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-201#post-10882922)
    reported that turning off the igpu in bios resulted in sharper image quality and no more banding
    (but then he was unable to change the brightness of the screen).

    Banding or 'Pinstripe effect' even noticed on FHD touch display:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-265#post-10947663

    And as you can see here (http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-265#post-10947847) 'touch' display is just a 'normal' display with a digitiser attached on it.

    Indeed that 'touch' display is same exact id name (LGD0540) found on Ionising_Radiation's original 7350 unit with 'non touch' panel.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2019
  5. kingofswag187

    kingofswag187 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    320
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Does anyone know of a eDP 30P 120HZ or 144HZ+ 17.3" panel for a M6800? The only documentation I've found is someone installed a LTN173CTxx in a M6700 which has the same eDP 30Pin socket
     
  6. khalid762

    khalid762 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Is the NV156FHM-N4B worth spending 30 more dollars over the N156HHE-GA1 for my Dell G3. Mainly use the laptop for esport gaming (casual player) and media consumption.

    I'm also open for suggestions on other panels.
     
  7. matck06

    matck06 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello, I bought the screen AUO (B173ZAN01.0) (screen helios 500 4k) to replace my screen. Fhd 144hz (B173HAN03.1) from my acer predator helios 500 .I think the connector is only compatible in FHD even if it has 40 pins ...
    I do not get any image but the screen is recognized in hwinfo64. Thanks for reading me
     
  8. dmw_4814

    dmw_4814 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just replaced my Full HD screen in my Acer Predator 17 (G9-793-79V5) with an AU Optronics B173QTN01.4 120Hz QHD, and the screen does not show the Acer Predator logo before booting into Windows 10 (and, as a result, I cannot access the BIOS). After a black screen for several seconds, during which time the Acer logo should be displayed, it boots right into the Windows 10 log-in screen, and after I type my password or PIN, Windows displays and functions completely normal. If I put my previous screen back in, an Innolux (or, Chi Mei) N173HHE-G32 Rev.C3 120Hz Full HD, the Acer logo displays as normal during boot, and I have no problems entering the BIOS. I'm reasonably certain my new screen is a genuine AU Optronics brand; at least, that's what the label on the back of the screen indicates.

    Anyone have any ideas as to why my Acer logo isn't displaying during boot with my new screen (it actually appeared for about 1/2 second once during a boot up, but that was the ONLY time)?

    When I first bought this laptop, it had an LG Full HD screen, with a 30-pin cable. I upgraded to the 40-pin cable and what I thought was an AU Optronics 4k UHD screen (but, the label didn't identify it as AU Optronics; it had no brand listed). That screen worked OK for a while, but then developed these red "splotches" on the screen, so I replaced it with another AU Optronics 4k UHD screen that someone was selling on eBay (he was a gamer who had replaced that screen, which was 60Hz, with a 120Hz Full-HD screen). I had to replace that 4k screen after a while, because it started occasionally not showing the Acer logo during boot (I'd say that happened 2 out of 10 boot ups) - hmmm, sounds familiar. Is the Acer logo not showing because of an incompatibility with my new screen, or could there be something wrong with my computer or BIOS?

    Thanks!
     
  9. Alghorabi

    Alghorabi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...pHplkO&id=591149244719&ns=1&abbucket=9#detail

    This seller seems to be selling 2 different 40 pin connectors for the 7530 one with narrow pins and one with wide. Maybe the wide one is 0.5 dot pitch?
     
  10. Chastity

    Chastity Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,258
    Messages:
    6,516
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Just because you don't see the Acer boot logo, doesn't mean you can't enter the BIOS. Start the machine up, wait a sec or two, then spam the key to enter the BIOS. When the screen catches up and displays, you should see the BIOS screen.
     
Loading...

Share This Page