Laptop For VFX

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by BobFX, Mar 31, 2020.

1. BobFX

BobFX Newbie

Reputations:
    Ok, I'm a VFX editor and our department is on work from home. I am well versed in the software I use but I seriously hate choosing computers. I'm not a tech geek, I know enough, but not enough. My laptop is dying, I'm on a deadline, I need a replacement this week, and I'm seriously frustrated. I'm finding a ton of gaming machines but they don't look like they can handle the kind of load I run.

And before you ask, no I don't want something with a Quadro, I have one at the office and it's okay, but I've seen my friend work on his laptop. He's got the RTX card with the studio drivers and his renders in Maya are freaking unheard of fast.

No Alienware, Dell or MSI, I have melted them all. Asus is pretty good, but it still gets pretty hot. I need something that's going to stay cool, not stutter or chug when I'm running pipelines. I mean I might just suck it up and get the same model as my friend, except last time I looked it was out of stock. So, help. I'm on a deadline here.

General Questions

1) What is your budget? $2500 tops

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen
    e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen - (Bonus points)
    3) Which country will you buying this notebook?

USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: Asus,
    b. Dislike: Dell, Alienware, MSI
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?

No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?

Editing visual effects. I run a pipeline in Maya, Nuke and sometimes Davinci, mostly Maya and Premiere.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?

Working from home like everyone else right now. I need something that doesn't try to melt on me.