Laptop for: photo editing and 2D graphics

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Bigg.I, Jun 5, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bigg.I

Bigg.I Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hello, it's time to replace my 6 years old 17" Asus K73SV. I am looking for a laptop suitable for photo editing and creating 2D graphics. I am a Creative Digital Media student (finished 2nd year) and my laptop is basically crap. Heavy, poor screen specs, lack of RAM, poor built quality, no battery life.
    I am studying abroad, but I am visiting my home regularly, that's the reason, why I am looking for a laptop. It should survive several journeys by a plane. (the current ASUS did and it's really poor quality).

When I finish my studies (1 year time), the desired laptop will be used for beginings in my professional career as well. After another 1 year, I am planning to get a decent desktop build and the laptop will be used less.

The new laptop should have at least 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, weight about 2kg (I can live with slightly heavier device, but no more than 2.3 kg please).

1) Budget - 2000 $

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    Not really sure. 13.3 - 15.6"
    3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.
    Czech Republic or United Kingdom

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    Like: Dell, Toshiba, Asus, Lenovo
    Dislike: Acer, Fujitsu Siemens, Apple
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?

Photo editing (Photoshop, Zoner Photo Studio), little bit of After Effects, Premiere and Illustrator. Webdesign.
    Internet browsing, movies.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    It will be mainly in my room, but twice a week I will need to take it to my class.