Laptop for Architecture School

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by WaffleMan149, Jun 16, 2020.

Tags:
  1. WaffleMan149

WaffleMan149 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    Under 3500

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    United States

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    I currently have a Dell Precision 7510 from July 2016 that I like a lot. I remember having some issues with it in the first few weeks though, so it is important for me to have robust customer service. I am currently considering upgrading to the 7750 or the Alienware 51M R2 (which a friend has and likes a lot, though I have zero experience with Alienware and have heard that their machines are way overpriced). I've also heard that the 51M is going to drop pretty dramatically in price around the end of the month? I'm not binding myself to either of these, but I was advised to check into these two. It needs to be a godzilla computer.

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    Potentially. Never done it before

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    I am an architecture student, so I will be probably be using this laptop for hardcore 3D modeling and rendering, likely with enormous models. Needs to be a laptop so I can carry it to and from studio when necessary.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    Yes. TBD with the pandemic, but I would like to be able to carry it on a daily basis

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? (If so, please state which games or types of games?)
    No, but I will be doing other very intensive activities

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?