Killer AX1650 Info And Review

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by WhatsThePoint, Apr 27, 2019.

  1. Spartan

    Spartan Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    22,040
    Messages:
    20,930
    Likes Received:
    30,798
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Just received the Killer 1650 and installed it in my Alienware. The speeds are superb, better than the Killer 1550 and so is the range.

    Speed Test.jpg

    @WhatsThePoint

    How come in Device Manager the name of the card is Killer WiFi 6 AX1650x? Notice the X after the 1650? There is no mentioning of an X on the Killer Site in the model name


    Device Manager.jpg
     
    Aivxtla and WhatsThePoint like this.
  2. Aivxtla

    Aivxtla Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    328
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    106
    It is actually labeled 1650x on the physical card. The company isn’t very consistent. Looking at that huge name in device manager is an eyesore, did they really need to add “WiFi-6” in the name lol.

    In AC tests, in my case at least it performed practically like the 9260ac tests as I expected. Only gains were in the AX. An Intel contact confirmed that there should be little difference on ac routers, a little maybe but nothing significant. Guess your 1550 might have been defective. Either way glad your liking the new one.

    Expect to see at best roughly a 20% improvement on 5Ghz with ax and almost 2x improvement on 2.4 GHz HT20, on HT40 gains were only 20% but obviously I never use HT40 as it would piss off neighbors:D.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 5, 2019
    Vasudev, Papusan, jaybee83 and 2 others like this.
  3. WhatsThePoint

    WhatsThePoint Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,128
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    643
    Trophy Points:
    181
    X marks the spot.lol

    I'll ask Rivet on Monday about the X

    I've also noticed the range being better.

    I've walked around my one level townhouse with notebook in hand and inSSIDer running.The far bedroom saw data rate up to 275 Mbps on 5ghz with a 1550 and worse on a Microsoft Surface Pro 5.The SP5 now sees 600+ Mbps at times and the MSI notebook with the 1650 can reach 866 Mbps in the far bedroom.It gets 1,838 Mbps in line of sight with the router from about 10' away.

    The RAX120 router is located at the rear of the house next to the TV and where the cable modem is.

    I'm sure as router firmware matures and new 1650 drivers are released things will get even better.

    I'm still doing file transfer tests
     
    Vasudev and Spartan like this.
  4. Aivxtla

    Aivxtla Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    328
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    106
    @WhatsThePoint or anyone else with an RAX120 could you please repeat uplink/downlink tests mentioned in my table for AX, unlike the RAX80 the RAX120 has high write speeds to external and much lower read speeds. I can’t till if it’s just my unit or it’s an actual firmware optimization issue affecting all units.

    Update: I tried using the same Samba read and write buffer settings via telnet from the RAX80 in the RAX120 with no change.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
    Vasudev and jaybee83 like this.
  5. Spartan

    Spartan Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    22,040
    Messages:
    20,930
    Likes Received:
    30,798
    Trophy Points:
    931
    @Aivxtla @WhatsThePoint

    Reply from Killer Networking regarding why no x in the official name of the card on their site:

    2019-05-06_190522.jpg
     
  6. WhatsThePoint

    WhatsThePoint Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,128
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    643
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Interestingly enough but the Killer 1550 Part Number also had the X after the numbers.
    P/N:KILLER1550X.01

    Another question about the Intel based wireless AC and AX cards is whether it has or hasn't VPro support.I'm not saying it's important to have.

    The MM numbers on the Intel cards will show if it supports VPro .

    AC9260 MM:958867 = No Vpro
    AC9260 MM:957712 = VPro support
    AC9560 MM:957715 = No VPro
    AC9560 MM:957714 = VPro support
    Killer 1550 MM:959454 = No Vpro

    AX200 MM:985927 = ????
    Killer 1650 MM:985961 = No VPro

    I notice that the Intel AX200 offered by Provantage,now at $15.22(Minimum Order 100), is listed as No VPro.
    The China sellers on ebay haven't stated in their AX200 ads so far.Some did with the 9260 and 9560
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
    Encryptonite, jaybee83 and Spartan like this.
  7. erick_e

    erick_e Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not that I use/need Vpro, this is my understanding of 9260 cards.
     

    Attached Files:

    jaybee83 likes this.
  8. jaybee83

    jaybee83 Biotech-Doc

    Reputations:
    4,015
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    9,058
    Trophy Points:
    931
    out of curiosity, what do you need VPro for?

    Sent from my Xiaomi Mi Max 2 (Oxygen) using Tapatalk
     
  9. erick_e

    erick_e Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't use, nor have any use for Vpro. My understanding is that it is for use in enterprise environments.
     
  10. jaybee83

    jaybee83 Biotech-Doc

    Reputations:
    4,015
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    9,058
    Trophy Points:
    931
    aaah misread your previous post...
     
Loading...

Share This Page