Just got the new R835-P50X

Discussion in 'Toshiba' started by efstuck, Apr 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. efstuck

efstuck Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey all,

Just wanted to stop by and say I'm a new toshiba laptop owner!

So far so good. The screen is pretty nice and even though the buttons on the keyboard seem to be a bit smaller, the keyboard has a nice tactile feel to it.

I've been using a macbook air for 2-3 years now (when it first came out) and it's been crapping out a bit lately and the 60gb (or 80?) HD just doesn't cut it. The battery life is down to like 1.5 hours now.

If ya wanna know anything, let me know.

Got it for $750 at Best Buy.

Ken

2. Ryoko

Ryoko Notebook Guru

Reputations:
    How's the fan noise on the Toshiba? I was looking at it and it was hard to determine at the store how loud the fan is.

3. hitt

hitt Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I got mine from Best Buy also. Everything is fine, it's decent, but... I am so, so disappointed with the sound quality. And this sucks, because I'm a music freak. Listening anything with headphones especially is killing me. Does anyone know any tips or tricks to get rid of the crackling sound? It is extremely annoying. The onboard speakers suck too, but hey, it's a laptop, I'm not expecting any good kind of sound out of them anyway.

EDIT: Ok, since I haven't really been able to try it out that much so far, it might be that this problem only appears with YouTube. Have to do some more testing in the morning.

4. aras87

aras87 Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    I would like to hear about fan noise as well. Also there should be a toshiba utility showing at what speed fan is running. Just wondering what it is as well.

5. hitt

hitt Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations: