1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Is there a laptop on this planet that will last 10 years?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by kf711, Sep 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kf711

kf711 Newbie

Reputations:
    I'm a high school student in the graduating class of 2013. I plan on taking 2 years of junior college and then a 4 year, so when all of my schooling is up it'll be 2019. rounding that out to 10 years, what laptop can stay working that long (If I got a laptop this year)? And even though I have a crappy Vista desktop, should I just wait until 2013 to get a new laptop?

2. 2.0™

2.0™ NBR Macro-Mod® Super Moderator

Reputations:
    Yes wait since you cannot readily update a notebook and by that time, they will be even better.

The idea of a notebook lasting for 10 years is not feasible considering advances in technology over that length of time. 5 years is a more realistic and achievable goal.

3. Gloomy

Gloomy Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    The Latitude series by Dell remind me of days when Dell notebooks were built to withstand the siege-engine hands of six year-olds. Dell really doesn't make them like that anymore :(

Having held one myself, I'd say they're candidates for a 5 or 6-year run. The nvidia gpus they wave around make me suspicious though...

4. jeremyshaw

jeremyshaw Big time Idiot

Reputations:
    My ancient IBM thinkpad... from 1990 or so, with an Intel Pentium MMX CPU.

Still runs Windows 98 fine, along with Office 95, but the CD drive itself gave out last year, so I am stuck with this slow RadioLAN setup, lol. No updates to IE9 for me... :( And no FF4, lol :p