1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Is it possible to connect a dell 30" screen to a dv6700 via hdmi?

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by vortex86, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vortex86

    vortex86 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi, i recently bought a hp dv6700 with a 2.5 ghz core2duo, 3 gigs of ram.
    it has the nvidia geforce 8400M GS in it with 256 mb.

    it has a hdmi port, no dvi ports (i havent found any yet :D)

    i am thinking about buying a 30 " flatscreen monitor, preferable the one from dell, the Dell UltraSharp 30" 3007WFP, which is the older model. the new one has many connection types, also hdmi.

    this one only uses dual link dvi.

    whats the max. resolution the hdmi output supports?

    is it possible to get a converter from hdmi to dual link dvi, so that i can use this monitor at its full resolution, which is 2560x1600 pixels.

    i hope you understand what i am trying to do.
    sorry for my writing, english isnt my motherlanguage ;)
     
  2. orev

    orev Notebook Virtuoso

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Here's a secret: an HDMI port IS a DVI port. They are the same thing and HDMI is backwards compatible with DVI. They just have a different connector. You just need an adapter or cable like this. You shouldn't have to pay more than $10 for it.

    As for dual link, I'm not sure but I don't think so. You'd need 2 HDMI ports for that to work. I think the max rez is 1900x1200 for single link?
     
  3. vortex86

    vortex86 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi, i kinda already knew that hdmi was like dvi, just with sound.

    on this page: http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_8M_techspecs.html

    it states: Advanced Display Functionality

    * Dual-link DVI outputs for digital flat panel display resolutions up to 2560x1600

    but i dont have the dvi output, so does this mean the hdmi is automatically a dual link dvi?

    thanks for your help.
     
  4. orev

    orev Notebook Virtuoso

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    That's all I know. I would think that for dual-link you need two physical connections. AFAIK, the HDMI port would only count as one. However, I think the bandwidth on HDMI is higher than DVI... but then I guess your display needs HDMI too :(
     
  5. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Dual link is one connection.

    Max output of HDMI Type A (which is what you have) is 1920x1200.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page